A Tennessee 14-day notice to quit for non-compliance is a legal notice in which a landlord informs a tenant they’ve violated a lease term. Under this notice, the tenant has 14 days to correct the breach or vacate the premises.
This notice is only applicable in counties that aren’t under the Uniform Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (URLTA), so landlords only use them for tenants living in counties with populations of less than 75,000 people.
Notice Types — In Tennessee, a landlord can issue one of two notice types:
- Curable: A curable notice highlights offenses a tenant can fix within a 14-day period.
- Noncurable: A noncurable notice records violations a tenant can’t remedy by the cost of damages, repairs, or any other amount due. The notice will state the tenant still owes the remaining amount and must leave the premises.