A Nevada employment contract helps an employer establish the terms and expectations of an individual’s employment. It includes information like the period of employment, financial compensation, job responsibilities, employment termination, and confidentiality clauses.
In Nevada, an employment contract must show voluntary compliance by both parties, clear terms and conditions, and the exchange of consideration  .
Hiring in Nevada
Before writing your Nevada employment contract, ensure you know the state labor laws and regulations, such as the minimum wage, payday requirements, and if employment certificates are required.
Nevada is an at-will employment state, meaning that an employer can terminate an employee’s job for any reason if it’s within the state’s laws. There are also exceptions to the at-will employment rules.
- Public Policy: Yes
- Implied Contract: Yes
- Good-Faith Exception: Yes
Minimum Wage ($/hr)
The minimum wage in Nevada depends on whether the employer offers qualifying health insurance.
If qualifying health insurance is not offered, the minimum wage is $10.25/hour. If qualifying health insurance is offered, the minimum wage is $11.25/hour. These minimum rates are valid through July 1, 2024  .
Nevada requires employment certificates for minors under 14. The only employment certificates issued are those for minors under the age of 14 with the written permission of a district judge  .
Age certification is not required in Nevada.
Nevada requires employers to pay employees at least semi-monthly.
Meal and Rest Breaks
Minimum paid break periods are required in Nevada. For every four hours worked, a paid 10-minute rest period in the middle of the work period is required. A rest period is not required for employees whose total daily work time is less than three and a half hours.
Nevada also requires employees to give employees a 30-minute meal period if they work for eight continuous hours  .
In Nevada, employers must retain these records for certain lengths of time:
- Employee Records: 2 years
- Unemployment Insurance: 4 years
- Domestic Violence Leave: 2 years
- Safety and Health/Workers’ Compensation: 3 years
Download a Nevada employment contract template below in PDF or Word format.