An Alaska sublease agreement is a document the original tenant uses to rent property to a new tenant (or “subtenant”) for a portion of their existing lease. The new tenant is responsible for paying the original tenant (or “sublessor”) on time and is bound by the same terms established in the original lease.
Once you’ve filled out your Alaska sublease agreement, you will effectively be the landlord for your subtenant.
This means you must honor the terms of the sublease agreement (as well as the original lease) and follow all Alaska laws regarding the eviction process, security deposits, and all other landlord-tenant matters.
Laws & Requirements
Sublease and Assignment Provision Laws: Alaska Statutes § 34.03.060.
Landlord-Tenant Laws: Title 34, Chapter 3 (Uniform Residential Landlord and Tenant Act) of the Alaska Statutes.
Security Deposit Obligations: The security deposit must be returned within 14 days of the end of the sublease or 30 days if the deposit is being used for rent owed or property repairs.
Notices: In Alaska, sublessors must provide subtenants seven days’ written notice to pay rent or leave. They also need to give 30 days’ written notice of the intent not to renew the sublease and the original lease.
Download our free Alaska sublease agreement template below and start creating your contract.