An Arkansas sublease agreement allows tenants to rent part (or all) of their rental property to a subtenant. In Arkansas, it is required that a tenant receive written permission from their landlord before subletting.
It’s important to understand that with a sublease in Arkansas, the subtenant living at the property will be subject to the terms and conditions of the original lease agreement the initial tenant has with the landlord or property manager.
Furthermore, the sublessor would be held liable for any lease violations or damage caused to the property and that rent is paid on time.
Laws & Requirements
Sublease and Assignment Provision Laws: No.
Landlord-Tenant Laws: Title 18, Subtitle 2, Chapter 16 of the Arkansas Code.
Security Deposit Obligations: The sublessor must return the security deposit within 60 days of the end of the sublease.
Notices: In Arkansas, sublessors must give their subtenants three days’ written notice to pay rent or leave and 30 days’ written notice of the intent not to renew the sublease or the original lease with their landlord.
Below, you can download an Arkansas sublease agreement template in PDF or Word format: