A Maine sublease agreement is a legal document that allows a current tenant (sublessor) to rent out all or part of their rental property to a new tenant (subtenant). A sublessor must follow all state laws regarding the eviction process, security deposits, and all other landlord-tenant matters.
In Maine, most leases require the tenant to obtain approval from the landlord before subleasing the property. The subtenant will then be required to adhere to the terms of the original lease and the sublease agreement.
Laws & Requirements
Sublease and Assignment Provision Laws: No.
Security Deposit Obligations: The security deposit must be returned within 30 days of the end of the sublease.
Notices: Sublessors in Maine must provide subtenants seven days’ written notice to pay rent or leave. They also need to give 30 days’ written notice of the intent not to renew the sublease and/or original lease.
You can download a free Maine sublease agreement template below in PDF or Word format: