A Nebraska sublease agreement is a contract between the tenant of a rental property (“sublessor”) and a person who wants to rent part or all of that property from the tenant (known as a “subtenant”).
Nebraska law is vague about subleasing, so it’s recommended that the tenant and subtenant enter into a written agreement to establish their rights and duties.
The tenant should also get their landlord’s permission before subletting. A sublessor should honor the terms of the sublease agreement and the original lease and follow all Nebraska laws regarding the eviction process, security deposits, and other landlord-tenant matters.
Laws & Requirements
Sublease and Assignment Provision Laws: No.
Landlord-Tenant Laws: Article 14 of the Nebraska Revised Statutes
Security Deposit Obligations: A sublessor must return the security deposit within 14 days of the end of the sublease.
Notices: A sublessor must give a subtenant seven days’ written notice to pay rent or leave the property. They must also provide 30 days’ written notice if they intend to not renew the sublease and/or the original lease.
Download a Nebraska sublease agreement template as a PDF or Word document: