An Oklahoma sublease agreement is an official legal document that allows a property tenant to rent out some or all of that property to another tenant (a “sublessee” or a “subtenant”).
In Oklahoma, the initial tenant (or “sublessor”) must create a sublease agreement that doesn’t conflict with the terms and conditions of the original lease. Within this new sublease, the sublessor must abide by all Oklahoma laws regarding the eviction process, security deposits, and other landlord-tenant matters.
Laws & Requirements
Sublease and Assignment Provision Laws: Oklahoma Statutes § 41-10
Landlord-Tenant Laws: Oklahoma Statutes Title 41 (Landlord and Tenant)
Security Deposit Obligations: A sublessor must return the security deposit within 30 days of the end of the sublease.
Notices: If a subtenant doesn’t pay their rent on time, a sublessor must give them five days’ written notice to pay rent or leave. If a sublessor decides not to renew their sublease or original lease, they must alert the subtenant within 30 days of the end of the lease.
You can download an Oklahoma sublease agreement template as a PDF or Word file below: