A Utah sublease agreement is a formal written agreement between someone renting a property (the “sublessor”) and someone who wants to rent part or all of that property (the “subtenant”). While this arrangement doesn’t directly involve the landlord, the landlord should be aware of the situation to avoid conflict.
Utah law doesn’t explicitly permit or prohibit subletting. However, if the original lease forbids subletting, the tenant can only sublease if the landlord changes their mind and provides written consent that they’re okay with it.
Laws & Requirements
Sublease and Assignment Provision Laws: No.
Landlord-Tenant Laws: Title 57 of the Code of Utah
Security Deposit Obligations: A sublessor must return the security deposit within 30 days of the end of the sublease.
Notices: If a subtenant hasn’t been paying rent, a sublessor must give three days’ notice for them to pay rent or leave. If a sublessor plans not to renew the sublease or the original lease, they must provide 15 days’ written notice of this intent.
Download a Utah sublease agreement template in PDF or Word format below: