A Wyoming sublease agreement is a legal document that sets out the terms and conditions for a secondary renter (or “subtenant”) to rent property from the original renter of that property (the “sublessor”). This agreement is an extension of the original lease and doesn’t cancel any of its existing terms.
While no Wyoming laws address subleasing directly, it’s wise to check your lease. Most lease agreements will have provisions stating whether subletting is allowed. If subletting is allowed but only with your landlord’s permission, you must seek their consent before entering into a sublease agreement.
Laws & Requirements
Sublease and Assignment Provision Laws: No.
Landlord-Tenant Laws: Title 1, Chapter 21, Article 12 (Residential Rental Property)
Security Deposit Obligations: A sublessor must return a security deposit within 30 days of the end of the sublease or within 60 days if they intend to deduct money from it to cover damages.
Notices: A sublessor must give a subtenant three days’ written notice to pay rent or leave the property. If a sublessor intends not to renew the sublease or the original lease, they should provide the subtenant with 28 days’ notice for a month-to-month lease.
Download a Wyoming sublease agreement template as a PDF or Word file below: