A Washington month-to-month rental agreement is a legal document establishing a tenancy-at-will between a tenant and a landlord. It renews itself every month as long as the tenant pays their rent on time and neither party issues a notice for termination. Landlords and tenants can establish this contract as a written or oral agreement.
Once both parties agree on the terms and sign it into effect, they obtain protections under Washington’s tenant-landlord laws. A tenant gets a habitable space from the landlord, and a landlord receives compliance from the tenant in terms of payment and behavior on the property.
Minimum Termination Period: In Washington, a tenant must provide at least 20 days’ notice to terminate their lease. If a landlord is terminating, they have different requirements depending on the circumstances. For example, a landlord must give 90 days’ notice for a policy change and 120 days’ notice for a building-use change.