A Washington lease agreement is a document a landlord creates so a tenant can live at a property. This document contains information like the property’s address, pet regulations, security deposit details, and the tenant’s and the landlord’s contact details.
Rent Control: No
Limit on Late Fees: No
Late Fees in Rental Agreement: Yes
Grace Period: Yes
License Required for Landlord: No
Required Lease Disclosures
Washington imposes certain requirements for landlords and tenants when executing a lease agreement outlined in the Revised Code of Washington (RCW):
- Disclosure of Lead-Based Hazards: All Washington landlords of any building constructed before 1978 must notify all tenants of the potential existence of lead-based hazards (42 U.S. Code § 4852d).
- Fire & Life Safety Disclosure: A landlord must provide the tenant with a copy of fire safety information and an evacuation plan (§ 59.18.060(12)).
- Identification of Landlord or Authorized Agents: A landlord must provide the name and address of the person allowed to enter the property (§ 59.18.060(15)).
- Disclosure of Mold: A landlord must provide all tenants with a written disclosure of all known mold contaminations of the rental unit as well as educational information provided by the Washington State Department of Health regarding how to control mold and the potential health risks associated with it (§ 59.18.060(13)).
- Rental Inspection Checklist: Both the landlord and tenant acknowledge and agree on the condition of each aspect of a rental unit before moving in and moving out (§ 59.18.260).
- Notice of Nonrefundable Deposit: A landlord must clearly state any non-refundable fees in the lease agreement (59.18.285).
- A Receipt of The Deposit: A landlord must disclose where they keep the tenant’s security deposit (59.18.270).
A landlord is unrestricted in how much they may request as a security deposit from the tenant.
They must return the security deposit to the tenant within 21 days after the tenancy ends (Wash. Rev. Code 59.18.280).
Landlord Right of Entry
Forty-eight hours’ notice is required by the landlord before entering the premises (Wash. Rev. Code § 59.18.150). In an emergency, a landlord doesn’t need to give notice to enter the property.
Landlords must include the Washington Statute and the Seattle Laws on Property Owner and Tenant Rights and Responsibilities as addendums to the lease.
Small Claims Court
The maximum amount a tenant can sue a landlord in small claims court for is $10,000 (Washington Courts).
Our Washington residential lease agreement template can help you form your lease agreement. It’s available to download as a PDF or Word file: