A Vermont lease termination letter (90-day notice) is a legal document informing a tenant their month-to-month lease is over and demanding they move out within 90 days. This notice is only for tenants who’ve lived on the property for more than two years. Vermont has different notice requirements for tenants who’ve lived on the property for less than two years.
A landlord doesn’t have to give a reason for terminating an at-will month-to-month tenancy. As long as they provide enough notice, they’ll remain within legal compliance. If a tenant doesn’t move out within 90 days, the landlord can take the tenant to court and get an order for a formal eviction.
Governing Law — 9 V.S.A § 4467(c)(1)(B).