A Vermont lease agreement is a document that creates a binding relationship between a landlord and a tenant so the landlord can rent out their property efficiently. This document contains various details, from the tenant and landlord’s names and addresses to rent payment specifics and pet prohibitions.
Required Lease Disclosures
The main disclosure for Vermont landlords to make is the one outlined by 42 U.S. Code § 4852d. If a property was constructed before 1978, a landlord must inform the tenant that the property may have lead-based paint, which can lead to negative health effects.
If a landlord decides to raise rent, they must notify the tenant 60 days prior to the increase (9 V.S.A. § 4455).
No statute limits the amount a landlord may request as a deposit from a tenant.
A landlord must return a tenant’s security deposit and a written statement itemizing any deductions within 14 days at the end of the lease (9 V.S.A. § 4461). There are no state-wide regulations, but local ordinances can enforce their own requirements for interest payments on security deposits to tenants.
Landlord Right of Entry
A landlord may enter the rental property with either the tenant’s permission or with 48 hours’ advance notice to a tenant to inspect, make repairs, or show the property to prospective buyers, tenants, and contractors (9 V.S.A. § 4460).
Small Claims Court
If a tenant is seeking compensation from a landlord due to an unreturned security deposit, they can sue them in small claims court for up to $10,000 (Vermont’s Legal Help website).
Download our Vermont residential lease agreement template as a PDF or Word file so you can start customizing your own: