A Vermont month-to-month rental agreement is a type of lease that creates a flexible landlord-tenant relationship, allowing the tenant to live on a property on a monthly basis. It renews itself each month when the tenant pays rent and when there’s no fixed end date. Within this document, the parties can find the terms of the agreement, such as the rent amount and rules for them to follow.
Even though the lease is short-term, both parties must still follow state laws for terminating the lease by providing adequate notice.
Minimum Termination Period: Vermont law doesn’t specify a minimum notice period for tenants. However, landlords must provide at least 60 days’ notice to terminate a lease that’s lasted for two years or less and at least 90 days’ notice to terminate a lease that’s lasted for more than two years.
Law: 9 V.S.A. § 4467