If you’re a landlord seeking to evict a tenant, use a Vermont (VT) eviction notice to begin the process. Your eviction notice must be written according to Vermont state law, and give your tenant the legally required amount of time to respond or move out.
In Vermont, eviction lawsuits are governed by Title 12, Chapter 169 of the Vermont Statutes.
Eviction notices in Vermont are also known as:
- Vermont Notice to Vacate
- Vermont Notice to Quit
- Vermont Notice to Pay Rent
- Vermont Lease Termination
Vermont Eviction Notices by Type
Download a free eviction notice customized for Vermont state law below in MS Word (.docx) or Adobe PDF format.
60-Day Lease Termination: Use this notice to let a tenant know that you’re ending a month-to-month lease, and that they must prepare to leave your property. In Vermont, landlords must give month-to-month tenants who have lived on their property less than two years 60 days’ notice to move out.
90-Day Lease Termination: Use this notice to let a tenant know that you’re ending a month-to-month lease, and that they must prepare to leave your property. In Vermont, landlords must give month-to-month tenants who have lived on their property more than two years 90 days’ notice to move out.
14-Day Notice to Quit for Non-Compliance: Use this notice to begin evicting a tenant in Vermont if they’ve broken the terms of your lease by engaging in illegal activity. In this situation, the tenant must move out within 14 days or risk being forcibly evicted by a court order. However, you can give the tenant the option to fix (or “cure”) the problem within that time period, though you aren’t legally required.
30-Day Notice to Quit for Non-Compliance: Use this notice to begin evicting a tenant if they’ve broken the terms of your lease. In Vermont, landlords must give tenants 30 days’ notice before the eviction process can proceed in court. In that time, tenants may have the option to fix (or “cure”) the problem.
14-Day Notice to Pay Rent or Quit: Use this notice to begin evicting a tenant if they haven’t paid rent on time. In Vermont, landlords must give tenants 14 days to pay rent before the eviction process can proceed in court.
Vermont Eviction Laws & Requirements
Vermont’s state statutes govern the eviction process.
- Eviction Lawsuit: 9 V.S.A. § 4467.
- Grace Period for Rent Payment: No grace period exists — if the rent is due on the first of the month, a payment becomes late on the second and the landlord may send a late rent notice (9 V.S.A. § 4455). However, the landlord will still need to wait 14 days before sending an eviction notice for non-payment.
- Late or Non-Payment of Rent Notice: 14 days (9 V.S.A. § 4467(a)).
- Notice of Non-Compliance: 14 days for criminal activity, illegal drug activity, or acts of violence (9 V.S.A. § 4467(b)).
- Lease Termination: 60 days for tenants who have lived there for two years or less; 90 days for tenants who have lived there more than two years (9 V.S.A. § 4467(c)). 7 days for week-to-week tenants (9 V.S.A. § 4467(e)).
What is the Eviction Process in Vermont?
Step 1: Send the tenant an eviction notice.
The first step in the eviction process is to deliver the appropriate eviction notice to your tenant. A written eviction notice must provide the tenant with information on why they’re being asked to vacate the property and what, if anything, they can do to cure any lease violations.
Step 2: File an eviction complaint.
If the tenant fails to respond to the notice, the landlord may file an eviction action with the circuit court in the county where the rental property is located. The filing fee for a Vermont eviction notice will include the cost of serving the complaint and summons to the defendant.
Step 3: Gather evidence and attend the eviction hearing.
After the tenant has been provided an opportunity to answer the complaint, the trial court will schedule a hearing on the eviction. In the interim, a landlord can gather evidence that will help support the request for an eviction order. If, after the hearing, the trial court issues an eviction order, the sheriff will oversee the tenant’s departure from the property.
Step 4: Obtain an eviction order
If the trial court finds the evidence supports eviction under Vermont law, it will enter judgment in the landlord’s favor. If the evidence doesn’t support eviction, the court may dismiss the case or enter judgment for the tenant. The eviction order will provide the tenant with a certain amount of time to vacate the property.
The court will usually set the issue of fees for a future hearing, as it’s tough for a landlord to compute a tenant’s back rent, fees, and other costs until the unit is empty and can be inspected.
Step 5: Request help from sheriff
After a court enters an eviction judgment, the landlord may request that the sheriff’s department help enforce the eviction order. Once the property has legally reverted to the landlord, the tenant must leave immediately or risk trespassing charges.
Related Vermont Court Forms
- Eviction Answer Form: Used by tenants to respond to a landlord’s complaint when they’re seeking an eviction. An answer is due 21 days after the complaint was served.
- Housing Discrimination Complaint Form for Vermont Human Rights Commission
- HUD Federal Housing Law Discrimination Complaint
Eviction Information for Vermont Landlords and Tenants
The Vermont judiciary has put together a helpful website with information geared toward both landlords and tenants. In addition, the Vermont Agency of Commerce and Community Development has posted a PowerPoint presentation with some highlights of state landlord-tenant law, including landlord rights and responsibilities.
Here are some resources that may be helpful for tenants facing eviction in Vermont: