An Alaska employment contract outlines the employment terms and details the employee’s benefits and responsibilities.
To be valid in Alaska, an employment contract must include all essential terms and an indisputable acceptance, consideration, and mutual intent to be legally bound  .
Hiring in Alaska
From minimum wage laws to payday requirements, there are a few employment laws in Alaska you need to know before hiring anyone:
Alaska is an at-will employment state. There are exceptions to at-will employment in Alaska.
- Public Policy: Yes
- Implied-Contract: Yes
- Good-Faith Exception: Yes
Minimum Wage ($/hr)
Basic minimum rate (per hour): $10.85  .
Premium pay after designated hours: Daily – 8, Weekly – 40.
Premium pay is one and one-half times the employee’s regular rate.
In Alaska, all minors 14-16 must have a work permit on file with the Department of Labor. Minors 17 years of age are required to have an approved work permit if the employer is licensed to sell alcohol  .
A new work permit must be obtained for each new job. If the duties approved on a work permit change, it may no longer be valid.
Employers in Alaska must pay employees at least semi-monthly or monthly.
Meal and Rest Breaks
Alaska does not require paid periods for breaks, nor does it have meal period requirements. There are, however, requirements for minors  .
Employers in Alaska must keep records for at least three years  on:
- Wages, hours, payroll
- Safety and health/workers’ compensation
- Child labor
- Employee access to records
Download an Alaska employment contract template below in PDF or Word format.