A Connecticut employment contract protects the employer and the employee and clearly outlines the expectations of both parties. The document states the employee’s job responsibilities and the compensation they will receive. An employment contract will also cover elements such as start date, term, benefits, and probationary period (if applicable).
To be valid in Connecticut, an employment contract must be entered with an offer, voluntary acceptance by both parties and an exchange of consideration. While both oral and written contracts may be legally enforceable, oral ones are more difficult to prove.
- Laws: Title 31.
- Definition of Employee: § 31-48d(2): “Any person who performs services for an employer in a business of the employer, if the employer has the right to control and direct the person as to (A) the result to be accomplished by the services, and (B) the details and means by which such result is accomplished.”
Hiring in Connecticut
Before you write your Connecticut employment contract, there are several state laws and requirements that you should know.
In Connecticut, at-will employment is allowed. There are also exceptions to the at-will employment rules.
- Public Policy: Yes
- Implied-Contract: Yes
- Good-Faith Exception: No
Minimum Wage ($/hr)
Basic Minimum Rate (per hour): $15.00  .
Premium Pay After Designated Hours: Weekly – 40*.
The Connecticut minimum wage is scheduled to increase to $15.69 per hour on January 1, 2024.
If the federal minimum wage rate requires or becomes higher than the state minimum, the Connecticut minimum wage rate automatically increases to 0.5 percent higher than the rate set in the Fair Labor Standards Act.
*In restaurants (including hotel restaurants), premium pay is required at time and one-half the minimum rate for the 7th consecutive day of work.
For minors under 16, employment certificates are required in Connecticut. Minors can acquire an employment certificate through their school  .
Employers are expected to identify minors they employ, but age certification is not required in Connecticut.
In Connecticut, employees must be paid weekly. Longer intervals (up to monthly) are permitted if approved by the labor commissioner.
Meal and Rest Breaks
Minimum rest periods are not required in Connecticut; however, meal periods are – for half an hour at some time after the first two hours and before the last two hours for employees who work seven and a half consecutive hours or more.
Connecticut employers must keep employee records of hours and wages for three years  .
Use our Connecticut employment contract template to easily and quickly create an effective agreement.