If you need to hire employees in Massachusetts, then using a Massachusetts will ensure both parties know what is required of each other. The employee will know their work hours, job responsibilities, and period of employment.
In contrast, the employer will know how much compensation to pay the employee, that confidential information is protected (if a confidentiality clause is used), and the terms for terminating the employment.
Employment Contracts: What to Consider as an Employer in Massachusetts
When writing a Massachusetts employment contract, it’s important that you know the Massachusetts labor laws and requirements, such as the minimum wage and payday regulations.
Massachusetts is an at-will employment state.
Minimum Wage Laws in Massachusetts
Basic Minimum Rate (per hour): $15.00
Premium Pay After Designated Hours: Weekly – 40
In Massachusetts, the minimum wage will always be no less than $0.50 higher than the federal minimum rate.
Employment/Age Certification in Massachusetts
Massachusetts requires both employment certificates and age certification. Employment certificates are required for minors under 18 and can be obtained from the minor’s school. Age certification is part of the employment certificate.
Payday Requirements in Massachusetts
Massachusetts requires that hourly employees are paid either weekly or bi-weekly. Salaried employees, on the other hand, can be paid semi-monthly, or if mutually agreed, monthly.
Minimum Periods for Breaks and Meals in Massachusetts
Minimum paid rest periods are not required in Massachusetts. Meal breaks, however, are required. Employees in Massachusetts should be permitted to have a 30-minute meal break for every six consecutive hours they work in a day. The meal break should free the employee of all duties and they are free to leave the workplace if they choose to do so.
Massachusetts Employment Contract Sample
Download a Massachusetts employment contract template in PDF or Word format below.