Use a Missouri employment contract to establish the terms and conditions of employment. A Missouri employment contract outlines elements such as the job responsibilities, period of employment, salary the employer will pay the employee, and any other clauses like a confidentiality clause, for example.
Employment Contracts: What to Consider as an Employer in Missouri
If you’re hiring employees in Missouri, then there are several state labor laws and regulations that you need to be aware of.
Missouri is an at-will employment state.
Minimum Wage Laws in Missouri
Basic Minimum Rate (per hour): $12.00
Premium Pay After Designated Hours: Weekly – 40
Employers of a retail or service business with gross annual sales of less than $500,000 are exempt from paying the minimum wage. 
Premium pay is required after 52 hours of work in seasonal amusement or recreation businesses.
Employment/Age Certification in Missouri
For minors under 16, employment certificates are required in Missouri.
Age certification is not required by law in Missouri, however, on request, age certification must be provided for minors 16 and over.
Payday Requirements in Missouri
Missouri employers must pay employees at least semi-monthly, via a regular payday.
Minimum Periods for Breaks and Meals in Missouri
Missouri does not require minimum paid breaks or meal periods. Employers also do not need to give a break of any kind, including a lunch hour, to minors under the age of 16.
Minors in the entertainment industry, however, cannot work over five and a half hours with a meal break. A 15-minute paid rest period is required after two hours of continuous work.
Missouri Employment Contract Sample
Below, download a Missouri employment contract template in PDF or Word format.