Establish the terms and conditions of employment between an employer and an employee with an Oregon employment contract. From the salary the employee will receive to how to terminate the employment, an employment contract ensures that both parties know what is expected of them. If the employer requires it, the employment contract could also include a confidentiality or non-disclosure clause to protect vital company information from competitors.
Employment Contracts: What to Consider as an Employer in Oregon
Make sure you’re aware of Oregon’s employment laws and regulations before hiring employees in the state.
Oregon is an at-will employment state.
Minimum Wage Laws in Oregon
Basic Minimum Rate (per hour): $13.50
Premium Pay After Designated Hours: Weekly – 40
In non-farm canneries, driers, and packing plants, as well as factories and manufacturing establishments (excluding sawmills, planing mills, shingle mills, and logging camps), premium pay is required after 10 hours a day.
The Oregon minimum wage is adjusted annually on a set formula on July 1.
The minimum wage is higher in the Portland metro area ($1.25 over the standard minimum wage) and lower in non-urban counties ($1 less than the standard minimum wage). 
Employment/Age Certification in Oregon
Employment certificates and age certification are not required in Oregon. Instead, employers are required to apply for annual certificates to employ minors aged 14-17 from the Oregon Department of Labor.
Payday Requirements in Oregon
Employers are required to pay employees at least monthly in Oregon.
Minimum Periods for Breaks and Meals in Oregon
Oregon required employers to allow employees a paid 10-minute rest period for every four hours worked in one work shift. The break should be approximately in the middle of the work period. The rest periods must be in addition to the usual meal period and taken separately; not to be added to the usual meal period or deducted from the beginning or end of the work period to reduce the overall length of the total work period.
Meal periods are also required in Oregon. For each eight-hour work period, employees should get one half an hour unpaid meal break (and two 10-minute paid rest breaks).
Shift length Rest breaks Meal breaks
2 hrs or less 0 0
2 hrs 1 min - 5 hrs 59 min 1 0
6 hrs 1 1
6 hrs 1 min - 10 hrs 2 1
10 hrs 1 min - 13 hrs 59 min 3 1
14 hrs 3 2
14 hrs 1 min - 18 hrs 4 2
18 hrs 1 min - 21 hrs 59 min 5 2
22 hrs 5 3
22 hrs 1 min - 24 hrs 6 3
Oregon Employment Contract Sample
Download an Oregon employment contract below: