If you’re a landlord seeking to evict a tenant, use an Arkansas (AR) eviction notice to begin the process. Your eviction notice must be written according to Arkansas state law, and give your tenant the legally required amount of time to respond or move out.
In Arkansas, eviction lawsuits are governed by Title 18, Subtitle 2, Chapter 17, Subchapter 9 of the Arkansas Residential Landlord-Tenant Act of 2007.
Eviction notices in Arkansas are also known as:
- Arkansas Notice to Quit
- Arkansas Notice to Quit for Nonpayment of Rent
- Arkansas Notice to Vacate
- Arkansas Lease Termination
Arkansas Eviction Notices by Type
Download a free eviction notice customized for Arkansas state law below in MS Word (.docx) or Adobe PDF format.
30-Day Lease Termination: Use this notice to let a tenant know that you’re ending a month-to-month lease, and that they must prepare to leave your property. In Arkansas, landlords must give tenants 30 days’ notice to move out if they’re on a month-to-month lease.
14-Day Notice to Quit for Non-Compliance: Use this notice to begin evicting a tenant if they’ve broken the terms of your lease. In Arkansas, landlords must give tenants 14 days’ notice before the eviction process can proceed in court. In that time, tenants may have the option to fix (or “cure”) the problem in order to avoid being evicted.
3-Day Notice to Pay Rent or Quit: Use this notice to begin evicting a tenant if they haven’t paid rent on time. In Arkansas, landlords must give tenants three days to pay rent before the eviction process can proceed in court.
If you wish to send a letter simply reminding your tenant that rent is late (without threat of eviction), use a late rent notice.
Eviction Laws & Requirements
- Eviction Lawsuit: Eviction Proceedings and Unlawful Detainer (§ 18-17-9) (§ 18-60-3)
- Grace Period for Rent Payment: 5 days (§ 18-17-701(b))
- Late or Non-Rent Payment Notice: 3 days (§ 18-60-304(3))
- Notice of Non-Compliance: 14 days (§ 18-17-701)
- Lease Termination (Month-to-Month): 30 days (§ 18-17-704)
What is the Eviction Process in Arkansas?
Step 1: Deliver the eviction notice
The landlord must first give the tenant the appropriate eviction notice to begin the eviction process.
Step 2: Wait for the tenant to act
If the tenant fixes (or “cures”) the problem or moves out within the required timeframe, then no further action is necessary.
Step 3: File the initial court documents
If the tenant refutes the eviction notice or fails to cure the breach(es), the landlord may file an action in the Arkansas Circuit Court by paying a $165 filing fee and filing the following documents:
Step 4: File forms before the hearing
Once the court receives the complaint and summons, the court will set a date for the hearing. The landlord must then file legal forms on the tenant using a civil process server. The process server will provide an affidavit of service for the landlord to file with the court.
Step 5: The tenant answers the complaint
The tenant has 5 days to pay the owed rent and may file an answer with the court. The court will decide if:
- the landlord or the tenant is favored at the hearing
- there are any damages to the property
If the tenant doesn’t pay the owed rent or file an answer with the court, the court may issue a writ of possession, where the landlord will receive the property back and the tenant will be barred from the premises.
Step 6: Follow up on other damages
If there are other damages, including unpaid rent, cleaning costs, court costs, and other damages, a landlord may go after the tenant even after the tenant has been officially evicted.
Related Arkansas Court Forms
- Civil Case Cover Sheet: The landlord must file the Cover Sheet with the court along with the Summons and Complaint.
- Complaint: A document that the landlord files with the court and serves on the tenant to indicate the reason(s) for the eviction.
- Summons: The landlord files a Summons with the court, and then the court serves it on the tenant to formally let them know a lawsuit has been filed against them. Once the tenant receives the forms, The Proof of Service must be completed by the server.
- Answer: The tenant (defendant) will be able to file an answer with the court, pleading guilty or disputing the charges against them.
- Writ of Possession: If the ruling favors the landlord, they can request this document from the court A Writ of Possession returns the legal possession of the property back to the landlord, and affirms that the tenant must leave the premises within twenty-four (24) hours or be forcibly removed by the sheriff’s department.
Eviction Information for Arkansas Landlords and Tenants
Under Arkansas law, landlords must not engage in retaliatory actions such as locking tenants out of the rental property, removing their belongings, or shutting off utilities without a court order.
Visit the Arkansas Attorney General website for more information on your legal rights and obligations as an Arkansas landlord.
Tenants also have legal rights in Arkansas during the eviction process. You may be able to put up a defense depending on the circumstances of your eviction. Read the eviction notice(s) carefully so you know exactly what’s happening and what you need to do.
Tenants may be entitled to sue their landlord if an eviction notice is served improperly or if a retaliatory eviction is underway.
If you’re facing eviction, visit the following websites for more information on how to receive legal help: