A Kentucky eviction notice is a document supporting landlords who seek to evict tenants for violating one or more terms of their lease agreement. Your written notice must comply with Kentucky state law, outline the eviction reason, and grant your tenant the legally required time to respond or vacate the property.
Download a free eviction notice customized for Kentucky state law below in MS Word (.docx) or Adobe PDF format.
Note: The following notices may be used in any county in the state of Kentucky. However, the specific periods are for leased properties that are in the counties listed below. If the leased property is in any other county, refer to the original lease or rental agreement to determine the exact number of days in advance the tenant must be notified.
- Silver Grove
Eviction Laws & Requirements
- Eviction Lawsuit: Uniform Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (Chapter 383).
- Grace Period for Rent Payment: No Statute.
- Late or Non-Payment of Rent Notice: 7 days (KRS § 383.660(2)).
- Notice of Non-Compliance: 15 days (KRS § 383.660(1)).
- Second Notice of Non-Compliance: 14 days (KRS § 383.660(1)).
- Lease Termination Letter (Month-to-Month Lease): 30 days (KRS § 383.695(2)).
How to Evict a Tenant in Kentucky
In Kentucky, eviction lawsuits are governed by Chapter 383 Forcible Entry and Detainer of the Kentucky Revised Statutes.
Step 1: Provide an Eviction Notice
The landlord must first give the tenant the appropriate eviction notice to begin the eviction process. For instance, a 7-day notice to quit is required to evict a tenant who hasn’t paid rent.
Step 2: File and Serve a Complaint
If the tenant cures the breach (when given the option) or moves out within the required timeframe, the landlord can’t take further action. However, if the tenant fails to cure the breach or moves out, the landlord files a complaint (or “warrant”) in the appropriate court. The fees vary depending on the county.
Step 3: Go to Court
Kentucky state law doesn’t define how quickly the eviction hearing must be held after the summons and complaint have been issued. The local jurisdiction has the right to determine the timeframe. Additionally, tenants are not required to file a written answer to appear at the hearing.
Step 4: Wait on the Tenant’s Action
If the tenant doesn’t show up or the court favors the landlord, the tenant must move out. However, the tenant may file an appeal within 7 days of the judgment, depending on whether a specific county has adopted the Uniform Residential Landlord Tenant Act. If no appeal is filed, the eviction process will continue.
Step 5: File a Writ of Restitution
If the tenant doesn’t move out of the property within 7 days, the landlord can file a Writ of Restitution. If the court grants the Writ of Restitution, the sheriff will remove the tenant from the property.
Related Kentucky Court Forms
Notice of Eviction Hearing Trial by the Court: This document begins the eviction process in Kentucky and must be delivered by the landlord to the correct court (which depends on the property’s location).
Warrant for Possession: If the tenant doesn’t move out within 7 days after the court has approved the eviction, the landlord must file this form with the District Court to ask the sheriff’s department to evict the tenant from the property.