If you’re a landlord seeking to evict a tenant, use a Michigan (MI) eviction notice to begin the process. Your eviction notice must be written according to Michigan state law, and give your tenant the legally required amount of time to respond or move out.
Michigan eviction notices are also known as:
- Michigan Notice to Quit (for Non-Payment or Non-Compliance)
- Michigan Notice to Vacate
- Michigan Lease Termination
Michigan Eviction Notices by Type
Download a free eviction notice customized for Michigan state law below in MS Word (.docx) or Adobe PDF format.
30-Day Lease Termination: Use this notice to let a tenant know that you’re ending a month-to-month lease, and that they must prepare to leave your property. In Michigan, landlords must give tenants 30 days’ notice to move out if they’re on a month-to-month lease.
Notice to Quit for Non-Compliance: Use this notice to begin evicting a tenant if they’ve broken the terms of your lease. In Michigan, a landlord can begin the eviction process immediately if a tenant doesn’t comply with the lease.
7-Day Notice to Pay Rent or Quit: Use this notice to begin evicting a tenant if they haven’t paid rent on time. In Michigan, landlords must give tenants seven days to pay rent before the eviction process can proceed in court.
If you wish to send a letter simply reminding your tenant that rent is late (without threat of eviction), use a late rent notice.
Eviction Laws & Requirements
- Eviction Filing: Chapter 57 (Summary Proceedings to Recover Possession of Premises)
- Notice Requirements: Chapter 554 Real and Personal Property
- Grace Period for Rent Payment: No maximum limit on late fees, and no grace period for rent payment required by Michigan law.
- Late or Non-Payment of Rent: 7 days § 554.134(2)
- Notice of Non-Compliance: 7 days § 554.134(1)
- Illegal Activity (Controlled Substance): 24 hours § 554.134(4)
- Lease Termination Letter (Month-to-Month Lease): 30 days § 554.134(1)
What is the Eviction Process in Michigan?
The eviction process generally takes four to eight weeks in Michigan.
Step 1: Provide an Eviction Notice
The landlord gives the tenant the appropriate eviction notice related to the reason for eviction. For instance, a 7-day notice to quit is required for non-payment of rent and lease violations.
Step 2: File a Summon and Complaint
If the tenant fixes the problem (when given the option) or moves out within the required timeframe, the landlord can’t take further action. However, if the tenant fails to cure the breach or move out, the landlord then files a Summon (DC 104) and Complaint (DC 102c) with the District Court, pays the court fee, and provides a copy of the notice to quit to the District Court.
Step 3: Go to court
The tenant must appear in court within 10 days after receiving the court’s summon if they wish to defend against the eviction. The tenant, depending on the reasons for eviction, may file one of the following forms:
- Answer for Non-Payment of Rent (DC 111a)
- Answer for Health/Hazard to Property (DC 111b)
- Answer to Complaint to Recover Possession of Property (DC 111c)
Step 4: Wait on the tenant’s action
If the tenant doesn’t show up or the court favors the landlord, then the tenant has 10 days to move out from the property.
Step 5: File a Writ of Eviction
If the tenant doesn’t move out of the property within 10 days, the landlord can file a Writ of Eviction (DC 107). If the court grants the Writ of Eviction, the sheriff will remove the tenant from the property.
Related Court Forms
Court Forms for Landlords
- Complaint (DC 102c): This document begins the eviction process in Michigan and must be delivered by the landlord to the District Court.
- Summons (DC 104): The landlord must file this form as a request for the District Court to summon the tenant to court.
- Application and Order of Eviction (DC 107): If the tenant doesn’t move out within 10 days after the eviction has been approved by the court, the landlord must file this form with the District Court to ask the sheriff’s department to evict the tenant from the property.
Court Forms for Tenants
- Answer for Non-Payment of Rent (DC 111a): A tenant who receives a summons for non-payment of rent notice must file this form with the District Court in order to appear at the hearing.
- Answer for Health/Hazard to Property (DC 111b): A tenant who receives an eviction notice due to causing health/hazard to the property must file this form with the District Court in order to defend themselves.
- Answer to Complaint to Recover Possession of Property (DC 111c): If the eviction is caused by any other breach of the lease, the tenant must use this form if they want to appeal the eviction action in court.
Eviction Information for Michigan Landlords and Tenants
Evictions are a process that most landlords and tenants would like to avoid, though in some cases they’re inevitable. To help Michigan landlords and tenants go through the eviction process smoothly, we provide more resources below.
Eviction Information for Landlords
Michigan landlords should know the number of days their tenant has to vacate the property or cure the problem prior to eviction. If the tenant fails to correct the issue or vacate the property by the end of the notice period, the landlord may file a lawsuit against the tenant.
Eviction Information for Tenants
As a resident of Michigan, tenants have certain legal rights. These rights include:
- Receiving proper notification (in the form of an eviction notice) prior to being evicted from a property
- Being given a certain number of days to address the violation and remedy it (unless the violation is incurable)
- Appealing to the court when an eviction notice has been issued by the landlord
To understand your rights as a tenant in the state of Michigan and the steps you can take if you receive a notice to vacate, visit MichiganLegalHelp.org. Find out more about the Michigan eviction process and the details of going to court for additional help.