If you’re a landlord seeking to evict a tenant, use a New Hampshire (NH) eviction notice to begin the process. Your eviction notice must be written according to New Hampshire state law, and give your tenant the legally required amount of time to respond or move out.
In New Hampshire, eviction lawsuits are governed by Chapter 540 of the New Hampshire Revised Statutes.
Eviction notices in New Hampshire are also known as:
- New Hampshire Notice to Vacate
- New Hampshire Notice to Quit
- New Hampshire Demand for Rent
New Hampshire Eviction Notices by Type
Download a free eviction notice customized for New Hampshire state law below in MS Word (.docx) or Adobe PDF format.
30-Day Lease Termination: Use this notice to let a tenant know that you’re ending a month-to-month lease, and that they must prepare to leave your property. In New Hampshire, landlords must give tenants 30 days’ notice to move out if they’re on a month-to-month lease.
30-Day Notice to Quit for Non-Compliance: Use this notice to begin evicting a tenant if they’ve broken the terms of your lease. In New Hampshire, landlords must give tenants 30 days’ notice before the eviction process can proceed in court. In some cases, tenants have the option to fix (or “cure”) the problem within those 30 days to avoid lease termination.
7-Day Notice to Pay Rent or Quit: Use this notice to begin evicting a tenant if they haven’t paid rent on time. In New Hampshire, landlords must give tenants seven days to pay rent before they can begin the eviction process.
If you wish to send a letter simply reminding your tenant that rent is late (without threat of eviction), use a late rent notice.
Eviction Laws & Requirements
- Eviction Lawsuit: New Hampshire Statutes: Chapter 540: Actions Against Tenants
- Grace Period for Rent Payment: None
- Late or Non-Rent Payment Notice: 7 days (§ 540:2 II(a)) and (§ 540:3 I)
- Notice of Non-Compliance: 7 days (§ 540:2 II(b) through (f)) and (§ 540:3 II)
- Lease Termination (Month-Month): 30 days (§ 540:3 II)
What is the Eviction Process in New Hampshire?
Step 1: Allow the tenant to correct reason for eviction
Before beginning the eviction process in New Hampshire, a landlord must inform the tenant they violated the rental agreement, and give them time to fix it. If the violation is non-payment, the landlord must provide a late rent notice or an eviction notice with an attached Demand for Rent form, which gives the tenant 7 days to pay rent or move out. If the eviction is for any other violation, the landlord can provide a non-compliance notice.
Step 2: File to sue for eviction with the court
If the tenant doesn’t fix the problem, the landlord may file a claim with the Local District Court along with the appropriate court forms. If the tenant and landlord agree that the tenant should move out, there’s also the option of a lease termination form, which legally removes the tenant from the lease.
Step 3: Let authorities handle the situation
If the landlord wins the eviction lawsuit, they’re then provided a Writ of Possession by the court. The landlord can take it to the police station and get help from the sheriff to remove the tenant if they still don’t move on their own.
Related Court Forms
Affidavit of Damages and Statement of Claim: This affidavit is used by the landlord to evict tenants for late or non-rent payments.
Affidavit of Ownership: A landlord will file this affidavit to prove ownership of their property.
Affidavit of Military Service: This affidavit allows the tenant to state their military service.
Demand for Rent: This form documents how much back rent is owed by the tenant, and must be attached to any notice to pay or quit eviction notice.
Eviction Information for New Hampshire Landlords and Tenants
It’s important for landlords to remember that when they want to evict a tenant they must first provide them a New Hampshire eviction notice, and may not evict the tenant without consent from the court. Additionally, the actual eviction must be done by a law enforcement officer.
If the tenant leaves personal belongings inside the rental unit, the landlord must store the tenants’ property for at least seven days after the eviction.
For more information on a New Hampshire landlord’s responsibilities, visit the New Hampshire Department of Justice website.
Tenants should be aware of their rights in the event of an eviction. There are many great resources if you find yourself in that position, including the New Hampshire Legal Aid Tenant’s Rights Overview, which can help provide you with legal assistance. There is also the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) guide on Tenant Rights, Laws and Protections in New Hampshire, which further explains your rights as a tenant.