Table of Contents
- CO Residential Lease Agreement: Download a Free Template
- View Sample PDF
- CO Landlord and Tenant Laws
1. Download a Free CO Residential Lease Agreement
Federal law mandates all 50 states include certain protections and components in all Lease and Rental Agreements. For instance, all agreements should include:
- The personal information of both the landlord and tenant,
- A description of the premises being leased,
- Whether pets are allowed or prohibited,
- Rent details, including; the security deposit, amount due, and payment cycle and methods,
- Disclosures and information about any known safety or health risks.
All states have their own individual rental and leasing agreements, which can make renting a place a bit tricky. Make sure you research and acquaint yourself with your state’s specific leasing laws and regulations, doing so will help protect you and your family financially, and legally.
Select the appropriate state where your Lease or Rental Agreement is to be executed to learn about the specific requirements and differences you need to be aware of.
2. Colorado Residential Lease Agreement Sample PDF
The sample lease agreement below describes a contract between “Landlord” Kevin Lee and “Tenant” Olivia Graham. She agrees to rent a duplex in Columbia for $1,000 per month for a fixed term beginning on June 01, 2017 and ending on August 09, 2017. The tenant agrees to pay for all utilities and services for the Premises.
This is a good example of what provisions a simple lease agreement might contain, and how one should look in its final form.Colorado-Agreement-Form-Template
3. Colorado Landlord and Tenant Laws
- There is no limit as to the maximum amount a Colorado landlord may request from a potential tenant. (No Statute)
- Colorado landlords are required to return a tenant’s security deposit within one (1) month of termination of the lease, unless previously agreed upon, and no more than 60 days even if agreed upon. (C.R.S. 38-12-103)
- If safety or health hazards force a tenant to vacate the premises, landlords are required to return the tenant’s deposit within seventy-two (72) hours. (C.R.S. 38-12-104)
Landlord Right of Entry
- Colorado landlords are not required to provide tenants with notice before entering the premises. (No Statute)
- Keep in mind that although landlords are not required to give notice in emergency situations, if a lease does not specifically include a clause outlining when a landlord may enter, then the tenant has exclusive possession of the property and is not required to give the landlord access. (No Statute)
Additionally, Colorado law requires:
- Colorado tenants may terminate their leases early in circumstances involving sexual abuse, sexual assault, or other domestic violence matters, but they may be responsible for one (1) extra month’s rent to the landlord. (C.R.S. 38-12-402-2)
- Colorado landlords may require proof of domestic violence status from tenants. (C.R.S. 38-12-402-2)
- A landlord shall not discriminatorily increase rent or decrease provided help and services for a tenant due to a tenant’s good faith complaint to the landlord or government agency alleging the premises’ conditions breach the warranty of habitability. (C.R.S. 38-12-509)