A Connecticut lease agreement creates a binding relationship between a landlord and their tenant(s). The property is rented to the tenant for a fee, who in return, agrees to the terms and conditions included in the document.
Such requirements include: the contact and identifying information of both landlord and tenant, the specifics of the premises, rent, pet permission, and security deposit details, and health, safety, and other important occupational disclosures.
By Type (6)
Rent Control: No.
Limit on Late Fees: No.
Late Fees in Rental Agreement: Yes.
Grace Period: Yes.
License Required for Landlord: No.
Required Lease Disclosures
Connecticut imposes specific requirements for landlords and tenants when executing a lease agreement. For instance, Chapter 830 of the General Statutes of Connecticut provides that:
- Disclosure of Lead-Based Hazards. All known lead paint hazards for buildings prior to 1978 must be disclosed to the tenant.
- Bed Bug Addendum. Landlords must inform the tenants of any bed bug infestations (§ 47a-7a).
- Condominium Interest Community Disclosure. Landlords must inform the tenants if the property is in a common interest community (§ 47a-3e).
- Landlord’s Identity. Landlords must provide their personal information and that of the parties involved in managing the rental unit (§ 47a-6).
- Sprinkler Disclosure. The agreement needs to specify if a functional fire sprinkler system is installed and the date of its latest inspection (§ 47a-3f).
For tenants age 62 and younger, landlords may request up to two months’ rent for a security deposit, while they may only request up to one month’s rent for tenants 62 or older. Connecticut landlords must keep tenant security deposits in a separate bank account.
Security deposits must be returned to tenants within 30 days of lease termination or 15 days of a tenant providing their forwarding address (§ 47a-21).
Landlord Right of Entry
Landlords must give tenants reasonable oral or written notice before entering the premises. Additionally, they are only allowed to enter at “reasonable times.” In the case of an emergency, landlords don’t need to give notice to tenants before entry (§ 47a-16).
If a landlord fails to supply a tenant and the premises with essential services and utilities, a tenant may terminate the lease and sue the landlord for up to two months’ rent or double damages (§ 47a-13).
Below, you can download a free Connecticut lease agreement template in PDF or Word.