Table of Contents
- MN Residential Lease Agreement: Download a Free Template
- View Sample PDF
- MN Landlord and Tenant Laws
1. Download a Free MN Residential Lease Agreement
All state Lease and Rental Agreements are mandated by Federal law to include certain information, specifically:
- The names and details of both the landlord and tenant,
- A legal description of the premises being leased,
- Any pet restrictions,
- Warnings and disclosures about any health, chemical, or other safety hazards,
- The amount of rent due and whether a security deposit is required,
- Payment methods and deadlines for rent.
States will often differ on key leasing and rental requirements. For example, some states may impose a security deposit be given to the landlord, while others don’t require a deposit at all. Acquainting yourself with your state’s specific leasing guidelines and distinctions will help better protect your legal and financial rights.
Doing so now, will save you future hassle, and even a potential lawsuit in the future, so make sure you select the appropriate state where your Lease or Rental Agreement is to be executed to learn about the specific requirements and differences you need to be aware of.
2. Minnesota Residential Lease Agreement Sample PDF
The sample lease agreement below describes a contract between “Landlord” Kevin Lee and “Tenant” Olivia Graham. She agrees to rent a duplex in Columbia for $1,000 per month for a fixed term beginning on June 01, 2017 and ending on August 09, 2017. The tenant agrees to pay for all utilities and services for the Premises.
This is a good example of what provisions a simple lease agreement might contain, and how one should look in its final form.Minnesota-Lease-Agreement-Form-Template
3. Minnesota Landlord and Tenant Laws
- Minnesota law does not impose a security deposit maximum on landlords. (No Statute)
- Landlords are however required to return a tenant’s security deposit within twenty-one (21) days after termination of the tenancy, or within five (5) days of a tenant’s departure after condemnation of the property. (Minn. Stat. Ann. §§ 504B.178)
- If a landlord fails to return a tenant’s deposit within the requisite period, they are required by law to then return the full deposit with interest, along with a penalty equal to the amount withheld along with a $500 “bad faith” fee. (Minn. Stat. Ann. §§ 504B.178 (Subd. 7))
Landlord Right of Entry
- Minnesota landlords are allowed to enter a tenant’s property for business, maintenance, and repairs, provided they provide “reasonable notice.” Reasonable notice should at bare minimum be twenty-four (24) hours. (Minn. Stat. Ann. §§ 504B.211 (Subd. 2))
- Some examples of “reasonable business purposes,” allowing a landlord to enter the premises, include showing the unit to prospective tenants, performing maintenance work, showing the premises to insurance agents or state or local officials. (Minnesota Landlord/Tenant Handbook)
- Emergency entry without notice is allowed for Minnesota landlords, provided it is in order to prevent injury to the tenant or property. (Minn. Stat. Ann. §§ 504B.211 (Subd 4))
Additionally, Minnesota law requires:
- Minnesota landlords are entitled to verify domestic violence claims by tenants. (Minn. Stat. Ann. §§ 504B.206 (Subd. 1(b)))
- Landlords are prohibited from disclosing information provided by the tenant, documenting domestic abuse, to others. (Minn. Stat. Ann. §§ 504B.206 (Subd. 2))
Cold Weather Notice
- Between the dates of November 15th and April 15th, Minnesota tenants are required to provide a landlord with at least three (3) days notice before abandoning or permanently vacating the premises. (Minn. Stat. Ann. §§ 504B.155)