A Florida sublease agreement is a contract between the original tenant (the sublessor) to rent out a property to a new tenant who wasn’t part of the original lease (the sublessee). The sublessor is still responsible for upholding the terms of the original lease.
Still, it acts like a landlord by collecting rent from the sublessee and holding them accountable for any breach of the sublease agreement.
Florida law does not explicitly prohibit or allow subleases, so the terms of the original lease will dictate whether a sublease is permitted. It’s recommended that a tenant receive written permission from their landlord before subletting.
Laws & Requirements
Sublease and Assignment Provision Laws: No.
Landlord-Tenant Laws: Chapter 83 of the Florida Statutes.
Security Deposit Obligations: The security deposit must be returned within 15 days of the end of the sublease or 30 days when imposing a claim on the deposit.
Notices: In Florida, sublessors must give subtenants three days’ written notice to pay rent or leave. They also need to provide the following day’s written notice of the intent to not renew the sublease and/or original lease depending on when rent is paid: seven days for weekly rental payment, 15 days for monthly rental payments, 30 days for quarterly rental payments, and 60 days for yearly rental payments.
You can download a Florida sublease agreement template below in PDF or Word format: