A Georgia sublease agreement allows the initial renter (sublessor) to rent a property to a new tenant (a sublessee). This can be for the entire rental property or a partial rental like a room. The sublessee is still responsible for upholding the terms and conditions of the original lease, even though they’re leasing from the original tenant.
If any damage to the property occurs, or if the sublessee does not pay rent or otherwise breaches the agreement, the original tenant is liable.
Landlords can request security deposits from the new tenants and even prohibit subletting altogether, so an original tenant should check with their landlord before setting up a sublease agreement.
Laws & Requirements
Sublease and Assignment Provision Laws: Georgia Landlord-Tenant Handbook, p.13.
Landlord-Tenant Laws: Title 44, Chapter 7 of the Code of Georgia.
Security Deposit Obligations: In Georgia, a sublessor must return the security deposit within 30 days of the end of the sublease.
Notices: The sublessor must give a subtenant written notice to pay rent or leave according to the sublease and/or original lease. They also must provide 60 days’ written notice of their intent not to renew the sublease and/or original lease.
You can download a free sublease agreement template for Georgia below in PDF or Word format: