A Massachusetts sublease agreement is a contract between a tenant already renting a piece of property (the “sublessor”) and a new tenant (the “sublessee”) who wants to lease part or all of the property.
The landlord must first approve a sublease in Massachusetts, which can only exist if the original lease is in effect. Depending on the rules outlined in the sublease agreement, it can also last for a shorter period.
The sublessor, whose name remains on the lease, is ultimately responsible for the premises if damaged or unpaid for by the sublessee.
Laws & Requirements
Sublease and Assignment Provision Laws: No.
Security Deposit Obligations: A security deposit in Massachusetts must be returned within 30 days of the end of the sublease.
Notices: Sublessors must give subtenants 14 days’ written notice to pay rent or leave. They must also provide 30 days’ written notice of their intent not to renew the sublease and/or original lease.
Below, you can download our free Massachusetts sublease agreement template in PDF or Word format: