A Michigan sublease agreement allows a current tenant (or “sublessor”) to rent out a home, apartment, condo, or other property to a third party (or “subtenant”). Under Michigan law, you can only sublease a property when the initial tenant has received consent from the landlord.
The original lease between the initial tenant and the landlord should state whether the initial tenant has the right to sublease the property.
As the sublessor, you are still responsible for paying monthly rent to the landlord and any damage the subtenant may cause, and following all Michigan laws regarding the eviction process, security deposits, and all other landlord-tenant matters.
Laws & Requirements
Sublease and Assignment Provision Laws: Michigan Legislature, A Practical Guide for Tenants and Landlords, p.11.
Landlord-Tenant Laws: Chapter 554, Act 348 of 1972 (Landlord and Tenant Relationships).
Security Deposit Obligations: A security deposit in Michigan must be returned within 30 days of the end of the sublease.
Notices: Sublessors must provide subtenants seven days’ written notice to pay rent or leave. They also need to give 30 days’ written notice of the intent not to renew the sublease as well as the original lease.
Below, you can download a free Michigan sublease agreement template to start creating your contract.