A Montana sublease agreement lets a tenant rent the property to a new tenant (or “subtenant”). In this document, the original tenant becomes the sublessor, and the new tenant becomes the subtenant. A sublease agreement requires the written permission of the original landlord to come into effect.
It also holds both the actual tenant and the subtenant to the terms of the original lease agreement. The original tenant is liable if something is damaged or the subtenant fails to pay rent on time.
A sublessor must honor the terms of the sublease agreement (as well as the original lease) and follow all Montana laws regarding the eviction process, security deposits, and all other landlord-tenant matters.
Laws & Requirements
Sublease and Assignment Provision Laws: Montana Code Annotated 70-24-305
Security Deposit Obligations: A sublessor must return the security deposit within 10 days if there are no damages and within 30 days if some of the deposit is being withheld for damages.
Notices: A sublessor must provide a subtenant with three days’ written notice to pay rent or leave. They must also provide 30 days’ written notice of their intent not to renew the sublease and/or original lease.
Below, you can download a Montana sublease agreement in PDF or Word format: