A Tennessee sublease agreement permits a tenant currently signed onto a lease to rent part or all of their rental property to another individual. The original tenant is referred to as the sublessor and the new tenant is called the subtenant.
The sublease agreement must be consistent with the outlined terms in the original lease.
The original lease can state whether or not the tenant must obtain permission before subleasing. If the original lease contains no clause that forbids subletting nor does it specify that the tenant must ask permission, the tenant can sublease as they see fit without the landlord’s consent.
Laws & Requirements
Sublease and Assignment Provision Laws: No.
Landlord-Tenant Laws: Title 66, Chapter 28 (Uniform Residential Landlord and Tenant Act)
Security Deposit Obligations: A sublessor must return a security deposit within 30 days of the end of the sublease.
Notices: A sublessor must give a subtenant 14 days’ written notice to pay rent or leave. They can reduce this notice period to seven days if the sublessor has provided duplicate notice within the last six months. Also, a sublessor must provide 30 days’ written notice of their intent not to renew the sublease or the original lease.
Below, you can download a Tennessee sublease agreement template in PDF or Word format: