What is an Alaska Quitclaim Deed?
An Alaska (AK) quitclaim deed transfers whatever rights the property owner has to a new property owner.
A quitclaim deed is sometimes mistakenly referred to as a “quit claim deed,” “quit claims deed,” and a “quick claim deed.” However, the correct term is “quitclaim deed.”
A quitclaim deed is unlike a warranty deed because a quitclaim deed only transfers whatever rights you have in the property. A warranty deed “warrants” that you have a good title, and there is a clear chain of title in the property. It provides assurances to the buyer that if there is any question about ownership, the seller will become involved again and help you fend off any person or entity who claims to have a right in the property. A quitclaim deed does not have the same features, and the buyer is on their own if title questions come up later.
Download an Alaska Quitclaim Deed
Important Laws & Requirements
- Law: AS 34.15.040 and AS 34.15.050 sets out that a quitclaim deed can pass all of the real estate that the grantor can convey.
- Recording: There are 34 recording districts in Alaska, and the State Recorder’s office oversees each of these offices. You should file in your district recording office where the property is located, but you do not have to record your document in that district as long as you list the district where the document should be recorded.
- Format: Alaska has very specific formatting requirements that are set out by code. These are summarized for your reference below.
- Use opaque white paper stock no larger than 8.5” x 14”
- Use a two-inch margin on the top of the first page
- Use one-inch margins on all pages except the first page
- The document must be legible and have consistent clarity; all documents must be in English
- Include a title that reflects the document’s overall intent (i.e., “Quitclaim Deed”)
- All signatures must be originals
- Fee: Recording a quitclaim deed in Alaska requires that you pay a standard fee. The first page is $20.00, and each additional page is $5.00.
If your document does not conform to the specific formatting requirements, the Recorder’s Office will send the materials back, or they may still be able to process it. However, if they process it, and it does not conform to the formatting requirements, you will be charged an additional $50.00.
How to Write & File a Quitclaim Deed in Alaska
Alaska has a centralized system for recording deeds, but, if possible, it is still a good idea to record your quitclaim deed in the district where the property is located. Filing in a local office will allow you to ask district-specific questions to local representatives, and it may make the process faster as well.
Step 1: Get a standard form for a quitclaim deed from your district office or use an online form to start the draft of your quitclaim deed.
Step 2: Be sure that your quitclaim deed includes the following information:
- Parties that are involved in the transaction
- Complete mailing addresses of anyone who is granting or obtaining an interest
- The full legal description of the parcel of land
- Signatures of both the buyer and the seller
- Information regarding who the district representatives should return the document to once it has been filed
You can include a cover letter with the return information, but this is not technically required.
Step 3: Once you have the right information on the required forms, you should file it with the Official Records of the State of Alaska. This section of government is part of the Alaska Department of Natural Resources Recorders’ Office.
There are 34 recording districts in Alaska, and you can record your quitclaim deed in the district closest to you. You must also pay the applicable recording fee when you send in your quitclaim deed as well.