An Arkansas (AR) Quitclaim Deed allows someone who owns a property (grantor) to transfer ownership of that property to someone else (grantee). The property transfer comes with no promises or guarantees about the property’s title or the grantor’s right to sell the property.
Sometimes people mistakenly call the quitclaim deed a “quick claim deed,” “quit claims deed,” or “quit claim deed.” These all refer to the same document.
If the grantor and grantee want a guarantee on the title, they need to use a warranty deed instead of a quitclaim deed in Arkansas.
Important Laws & Requirements
The following are important laws and requirements related to Arkansas quitclaim deeds:
Arkansas Code § 18-12-209, § 14-15-404, and § 18-12-104
According to Arkansas Code § 14-15-404, all quitclaim deeds in Arkansas must be submitted to the office of the County Recorder Circuit Clerk for filing. The office will charge a recording or filing fee. Choose the Circuit Clerk that oversees the county where the property is located.
Per Arkansas Code § 18-12-104, Arkansas quitclaim deeds require the grantor to sign in front of a notary public and two (2) disinterested witnesses with no claim in the transaction.
The tax rate on real estate transfers in Arkansas is $3.30 per $1,000 of actual consideration on transactions that exceed $100. This Real Property Transfer Tax must be paid when submitting the quitclaim deed. The Department of Finance and Administration also requires you to file the Real Property Tax Affidavit of Compliance Form.
How to Write & File a Quitclaim Deed in Arkansas
Step 1 – Get the Arkansas Quitclaim Form
Download the Arkansas quitclaim deed form.
Step 2 – Enter Name and Address
Record the name and address of the person who prepares the form. Record the name and address of the person who wishes to receive the form after it has been recorded, typically the grantee. These go on the upper left-hand side of the form.
Step 3 – Fill in Property’s County
After “State of Arkansas,” record the property’s county.
Step 4 – Write Dollar Amount
After “Know All Men By These Presents,” write the dollar amount, in words, that the grantee is paying to the grantor for the property. Then, in parentheses, write the amount numerically.
Step 5 – Enter Grantor’s Full Name
Record the grantor’s full name. This goes in the blank after “in hand paid to.” After the name, write “grantor,” then write the grantor’s mailing address, county, city, and state.
Step 6 – Enter Grantee’s Full Name
Repeat this for the grantee, using the term “grantee” in the appropriate blank.
Step 7 – Write Legal Description
Write the legal description of the property. After “situated in,” write the property’s county. If you need to attach additional documentation, note the title of the documentation in the blanks where the legal description should be.
Step 8 – Get the Deed Notarized
Take the deed to a notary public, and arrange for two witnesses to come as well. The witnesses and the notary must all sign the document after watching the grantor sign. According to Arkansas Code § 18-12-104, the witnesses must be neutral parties with no vested interest in the transaction.
Step 9 – Record the Deed
Record the deed with the Circuit Clerk in the county where the property is located, and pay the transfer tax based on the price paid for the property.
Arkansas Quitclaim Deed Sample
Below, you can find what an Arkansas quitclaim deed typically looks like: