As a property owner, you can use a Michigan Quitclaim Deed Form to transfer your real estate ownership to another party.
You can use a quitclaim deed when adding spousal names to the property deed, making gifts, or changing the character of the ownership.
A quitclaim deed does not require a title search and does not guarantee that the title is free of liens or other claims.
If the grantee needs the security of no property liens or claims, they would need a warranty deed, which involves a complete title search.
The property is therefore transferred with certain guarantees and protections.
Michigan Quitclaim Deed Laws and Requirements
The validity of your filed quitclaim deed depends on how carefully you follow Michigan’s specific requirements.
Chapter 565 of the Michigan Compiled Laws contains all the rules regarding property transfer.
It specifies important points, such as:
- Conveyances of the property must be in writing.
- The grantor (current owner or seller) must be competent to transfer the property.
- The grantee (new owner or buyer) must be a real person and capable of holding title to the property. The person cannot be a fictitious name or pseudonym.
Michigan law requires that you include certain details about the property you’re transferring, and you can usually copy it from an older deed.
The legal description should contain the plat and map number, the surveyor’s measurements, property tax identification number and the street address.
Be sure to include any legal rights or restrictions.
Some deeds may only have a developer’s lot number and have the legal description attached as an exhibit.
Be sure you have the entire description included in your quitclaim deed.
Michigan Compiled Laws Section 565.201 requires the grantor to sign their Michigan quitclaim deed form before a notary public.
The name beneath the signature must be legibly printed, typewritten or stamped and must match exactly.
For instance, if the grantor signs as Joe Smith, the signature line cannot say Joseph P. Smith. Otherwise, the deed will be invalid.
The quitclaim deed must include the notary’s certificate of acknowledgment.
This verifies that the notary is an officer of the court and witnessed the signature.
Per Michigan Compiled Laws Section 565.152, the quitclaim deed must contain the following or similar language for it to be valid in Michigan:
- “[A.B.] quitclaims to [C.D.]” followed by a description of the property) “for the sum of” (followed by the price, even if the price is $1.00).
The State of Michigan and the county where the property is located may charge a transfer tax on written documents indicating the transfer of real estate interests.
The transfer tax form is evidence that the taxes were paid. If the transfer is tax-exempt under Michigan Compiled Laws Sections 207.505 and 207.526, the amount on the transfer tax form is zero.
Transfer taxes are evaluated at the time of transfer based on the dollar value of the property. However, some types of transfers are tax-exempt such as:
- Properties valued at less than $100
- Gifts and inheritances
- Conveyances between spouses
- Corrections in property lines, titles, or property interests
A quitclaim deed in Michigan can be recorded after a grantor’s death, allowing an heir to inherit the property.
A Property Transfer Affidavit (Form 2766) must be filed by the new owner (grantee/buyer) with the Assessor for the city or township where the property is located within 45 days of the transfer of ownership.
See Michigan Compiled Laws Section 211.27a.
You do not need additional witnesses for your Michigan quitclaim deed.
File your quitclaim deed with the Register of Deeds in the county where the property is located — not where the transaction occurs. Each county will have its filing fees.
You may mail or hand deliver your quitclaim deed to the proper county for recording.
How to Write & File a Quitclaim Deed in Michigan
Follow the steps below to write and file a Michigan quitclaim deed.
Step 1 – Obtain Michigan Quitclaim Deed Form
Download the MI quitclaim deed form or use our document builder to prepare your form.
Step 2 – Enter Preparer Name
Add the name and address of the document preparer under “Prepared By” on the document’s first line.
Step 3 – Fill in ‘Return To” Information
Add the name and return mailing address under “After Recording Return To.” This is typically the name and address of the grantee, but it could be a different party.
This will be the person who receives the deed when the Register of Deeds is finished recording.
Step 4 – Write Grantor’s Information
In the next area, write the full name and street address of the grantor.
Step 5 – Enter Grantee Details
State the full name and street number or post office address of the grantee.
Step 6 – Fill in Consideration
Write the price (consideration) paid, if any, for the property in words and the numerical value.
Step 7 – Document Legal Description
Write the county where the property is located. Then, add the complete legal description of the property including the property address and tax identification number.
Add an attachment if there is not enough space.
Step 8 – Get Document Notarized
Have the grantor sign the deed and print their name in the presence of a notary public.
Step 9 – Register Your Michigan Quitclaim Deed
Submit the Michigan quitclaim deed to the Register of Deeds in the county where the property is located.
Pay any recording fees along with the deed. Recording fees are specific to the individual county.
Sample Michigan Quitclaim Deed Form
The following is an example of what a Michigan quitclaim deed looks like.