What is a Missouri Quitclaim Deed?
A Missouri (MO) quitclaim deed represents a means to transfer real property in Missouri. The name comes from actually “quitting” or transferring away your interest in a property.
A quitclaim deed allows you to transfer whatever rights you may have in the property to another person or entity. It is sometimes mistakenly called a “quit claim deed,” “quit claims deed,” or a “quick claim deed.”
It is unlike a warranty deed, which pledges to the buyer that the seller has ownership of the property free and clear of all liens and other interests. A warranty deed provides much more assurances of valid ownership compared to a quitclaim deed.
Download a Missouri Quitclaim Deed
Important Laws & Requirements
- Laws: § 442.150, § 59.310 (formatting), and § 442.150 (notary)
- Print pages only on one side
- Do not staple or otherwise attach multiple pages to one another
- Do not use font smaller than 8-point type
- Ensure that the document is sufficiently legible
- Use white paper or light colored paper less than 20-pound weight
- Do not use watermarks or visible inclusions (except for plats and surveys)
- Use black or dark ink for signatures
- Ensure there is a top margin of at least three inches and a margin everywhere else of at least three-fourths of an inch
- § 59.313 allows the recorder to accept deeds that do not quite conform to the formatting requirements for an extra $25 fee
- Cover Sheets: Some counties also provide sample cover sheets to send with your quitclaim deeds
- Fees: Fees to file a quitclaim deed will vary based on how many pages your deed may be; it is generally $21 for the first page and $3 for each additional page
How to Write and File a Quitclaim Deed in Missouri
Step 1: Obtain a standard quitclaim form from your county office or use an online form to start drafting your quitclaim deed.
Step 2: Include the following on each quitclaim document.
- The title of the document
- The date of the transfer
- All grantors’ names
- Any grantees’ names
- Statutory addresses
- A legal description for the property
- References to the page numbers of the reference books, if applicable
Step 3: Create a cover page, if desired
Step 4: Send the deed to the county recorder where the real property is located by mail or by using electronic filing, if available
If the recording is accepted, you will receive a file-stamped document back from the recorder. If there are errors that you need to address, then the county recorder will send the MI quitclaim deed back to you with the reason for the rejection. In some cases, they may accept the document with errors and charge you an additional $25 fee.
Many counties have the ability to search for real estate records online, but you can also contact the county for more information about real estate in your county.