You can use a Nevada quitclaim deed form to make changes to a deed, such as adding or removing a name. The quitclaim deed is the simplest way to transfer property.
With a quitclaim deed, you only transfer whatever ownership and interest you have in the property. No legally enforceable promises are made that there are no outstanding claims or liens on the property.
Read on to ensure your quitclaim deed complies with Nevada quitclaim deed form requirements.
Nevada Quitclaim Deed Laws and Requirements
Under Nevada law, a quitclaim deed must be in writing, contain a legal description of the property, and meet specific signing and acknowledgment requirements. You must pay a transfer tax and record the deed.
The laws governing transfers of Nevada real property, including deeds, are located in Chapter 111 of the Nevada Revised Statutes. Chapter 247 regulates the recording process.
In a Nevada quitclaim deed form, provide the property’s full legal description, including the property’s mailing address and the 11-digit parcel number (APN).
Under Nevada Revised Statutes Section 111.105, the grantor (the person transferring the property) must sign the deed.
Nevada Revised Statutes Section 111.105 also requires an acknowledgment of the grantor’s signature. Under Nevada law, only a notary public or certain other court officials can acknowledge the grantor’s signature.
Unlike many other states, Nevada law does not provide sample language to use in a quitclaim deed form. However, to ensure that your deed is a quitclaim deed, include the term “quitclaim” in your deed.
Nevada requires the payment of a Real Property Transfer Tax for transfers of real property. The buyer and seller can determine which party will pay the tax, and the County Recorder in the county where the property is located determines how much tax is owed.
The amount of the tax is $1.95 for each $500 of the property value if the value is over $100. A few counties require more. For instance, Nevada’s Clark County requires an additional $0.60.
To estimate the real property transfer tax for a property transferred via a quitclaim deed in Clark County, use this calculator.
Common exceptions to the transfer tax include the following:
- transfers to first-degree relatives (a parent, sibling, or child)
- transfers due to a divorce decree
- transfers due to inheritances in certain circumstances.
To ensure payment of the appropriate real property transfer tax, you must file a Declaration of Value form along with the deed with the County Recorder’s Office according to Nevada Revised Statute Section 375.060.
Besides the signature acknowledgment requirement, there is no witness requirement for a Nevada quitclaim deed.
Per Nevada Revised Statutes Section 111.315, all deeds, including quitclaim deeds, must be recorded with the Recorder’s Office in the county where the property is located to protect the grantee’s (buyer) property rights in the future.
Nevada Revised Statutes Section 111.312 requires every document for recording to contain the grantee’s mailing address, the Assessor’s parcel number to be placed at the top left corner of the first page of the document, and the name and address of the person who will receive the statement of the taxes assessed.
Nevada Revised Statutes 247.110 requires the document to be 8½ by 11 inches in size, including a 3 by 3 inches blank space at the upper right corner of the first page, a 1-inch margin for the rest of the sides, and text size to be larger than 10-point Times New Roman font and printed or typed in black ink only.
The notarized deed must include a top cover sheet when it is filed.
How to Write & File a Quitclaim Deed in Nevada
Follow the steps below to write and file a quitclaim deed in Nevada.
Step 1 – Obtain Quitclaim Deed Form
Download the Nevada quitclaim deed form.
Step 2 – Enter Preparer’s Details
Fill in the document preparer’s information, including name and address. You’ll also need to list the name and address you’d like the County Recorder to return the recorded deed and future tax assessment statements.
This is typically the grantee but it can be anyone.
Step 3 – Note Consideration
Add the dollar amount of “consideration” the person executing the quitclaim deed (“Grantor”) is being paid. Sometimes, no money may change hands, and the Grantor can simply put “zero.”
But if there is an exchange of funds, spell out this amount and write it out numerically in the appropriate spaces on the form.
Step 4 – Write Grantor’s Details
Put the Grantor’s full name and mailing address in the appropriate spaces.
Step 5 – Enter Grantee’s Information
Provide the Grantee’s full name and mailing address.
Step 6 – Fill in Property County
Write the county in which the property is located.
Step 7 – Note Legal Description
Include as much detailed property information in the blank spaces as you can, including the property’s address, legal description, and the 11-digit parcel number (APN). If the quitclaim deed inadequately describes the property, it may not convey the interest the Grantor and Grantee intend.
Step 9 – Get Quitclaim Deed Notarized
Each Grantor must sign and print their names and have their signatures notarized. The Notary Public will fill in all required information below the signatures, ending with the Notary’s ID number, expiration date, and seal. This completes the form.
Step 10 – File Your Nevada Quitclaim Deed
The final step is to file the form and additional documents with the County Recorder in the Nevada county where the property is located.
Each county has its processes, fees, and procedures, so it’s important to review the county’s website or give the Recorder’s Office a call before you proceed.
In some cases, you may be able to file this document online; in others, you may need to present it to the County Recorder in person.
Sample Nevada Quitclaim Deed Form
Below is an example of what a Nevada quitclaim deed looks like.