An Oregon quitclaim deed form is a legal document that transfers rights or interest in a real estate property from one person (grantor) to another (grantee).
This type of property transfer doesn’t guarantee the ownership or clarity of the title. So, do your due diligence to ensure you’ll get a defect-free title.
If you want more protection, a warranty deed is a better option. However, a quitclaim deed form can help transfer real property much faster and is suitable for property transfer between family members.
Oregon Quitclaim Deed Laws and Requirements
The information below will help you understand how to create a valid Oregon quitclaim deed form.
The law governing a quitclaim deed form in the state is Oregon Revised Statutes § 93.865.
The law provides the quitclaim deed form format and other requirements with which you must comply to transfer property via a quitclaim deed form in Oregon.
According to Oregon Revised Statutes § 93.600, specific ways describe the real property being transferred. The legal description must:
- Give the subdivision name with lot and block; or
- Provide the partition plat recording and parcel number; or
- Provide the metes and bounds (boundary description using landmarks); or
- Reference the recorded deed number, document number, or book and page of the county’s public record that described the property.
Describing the property by street address or tax lot number alone is not an adequate legal description.
Under Oregon Revised Statutes § 93.410, the grantor must sign the quitclaim deed form.
Acknowledgment simply refers to a declaration that a person acted of their own free will.
Oregon Revised Statutes § 93.410 provides that the quitclaim deed must be acknowledged before a notary public or other recognized officials within the state.
There’s no transfer tax on real estate transfers in Oregon except in Washington county. Washington county imposes a transfer tax on property transfers at $1 per $1,000 of the sales price.
There are exemptions from the transfer tax for transfers between spouses and gift transfers. Payment of the transfer tax must be within 15 days of recording the deed.
You don’t need any additional documents. A fully compliant quitclaim deed form is all you need to transfer property and record the transaction.
There’s no need for any witness to a quitclaim deed form in Oregon.
After signing your quitclaim deed form and notarizing it, you’ll file it in the Recorder’s Office within the County Court Clerk’s Office, in the county where the property is located per Oregon Revised Statutes § 205.130.
In most jurisdictions, you’ll pay a filing fee, so contact the Recorder’s office in the county before submission. A $20 non-conforming fee will be charged in addition to recording fees if the document does not meet statutory requirements.
Oregon Revised Statutes § 205.232 requires the document to be no larger than 8.5 inches by 14 inches in size and the printed, typed, or written text to be in an 8-point font or larger.
Per Oregon Revised Statutes § 205.234, the first page of the document must contain at least the following:
- Title of the document
- Name(s) of the parties (grantor and grantee)
- Return to information (name and address)
- Tax Statements (name and address where tax statements should be sent)
- Actual consideration paid
How to Write & File a Quitclaim Deed in Oregon
Follow the steps below to write and file a quitclaim deed in Oregon.
Step 1 – Obtain Quitclaim Deed Form
Download the Oregon quitclaim deed form.
Step 2 – Enter Preparer’s Details
In the “prepared by” section, enter the name and contact information of the person filling in the form, the “preparer.”
Step 3 – Fill In ‘Return To” Information
Add the name and address of the person who will receive the deed when it is recorded. This goes in the space titled “After Recording Return To.”
Step 4 – Write Grantor Name and Address
Next, write the name of the seller, labeled “grantor” in the document. After the name, write the grantor’s address, including their county.
Step 5 – Enter Grantee Name and Address
Next, record the buyer’s name, address, and county (the “grantee”).
Step 6 – Note Consideration
Record the actual amount paid, if any, for the property, first written out, and then written numerically in parentheses.
Step 7 – Fill in Property County
Record the property’s county.
Step 8 – Enter Legal Description
Report the address of the property and its legal description. If you need more space, attach a document to the quitclaim deed. The property’s description can be found on a previous deed.
Step 9 – Get Quitclaim Deed Notarized
Take the document to a notary and have the grantor sign it, printing their name beneath the signature.
Step 10 – File Your Oregon Quitclaim Deed
Take the completed, notarized form to the appropriate County Clerk’s Office, in the county where the property is located. Pay the filing fee and other taxes.
Sample Oregon Quitclaim Deed
Below is an example of what an Oregon quitclaim deed looks like.