In the state of Rhode Island (RI), a quitclaim deed is used to quickly transfer ownership and interest in a property from the owner (grantor) to a buyer (grantee) without any guarantee that the grantor has the title or the right to make this transfer. This deed is best used when the two parties know and trust one another.
The type of deed that guarantees the title is good and clean is a warranty deed.
A quitclaim deed may sometimes be called “quit claims deed,” “quit claim deed,” “or quick claim deed” by mistake.
Important Laws & Requirements
The following are important laws and requirements for Rhode Island quitclaim deeds.
Rhode Island General Laws § 34-11-17
Per Rhode Island General Laws § 34-11-1, a quitclaim deed in Rhode Island is submitted for filing with the Recorder of Deeds in the city or town where the property is located. There is no county-level recording in Rhode Island.
According to Rhode Island General Laws § 34-11-1.1, the grantor has to sign the Rhode Island quitclaim deed before a notary public for notarization.
Rhode Island General Laws § 44-25-1 imposes a conveyance tax of $2.30 for each $500 when the consideration is over $100.
Beginning on January 1, 2022, there is an additional tax of $2.30 for each $500 when the consideration is greater than $800,000.
Note that the transfer tax is exempted per Rhode Island General Laws § 44-25-2.
All documents must have either Rhode Island realty tax stamps or a statement indicating that no Rhode Island realty tax stamps are required.
How to Write & File a Quitclaim Deed in Rhode Island
Take the following steps to write and file a quitclaim deed in Rhode Island.
Step 1 – Obtain the Rhode Island Quitclaim Deed Form
Find and download the Rhode Island quitclaim deed.
Step 2 – Enter Preparer’s Details
Fill in the name and address of the person preparing the form in the upper left-hand corner.
Step 3 – Write “Return To” Person’s Information
Next, record the name and mailing address of the person who wishes to receive the deed after it is recorded. This is usually the new owner or grantee, but it does not have to be.
Use the proper mailing address to ensure the deed gets to the right person.
Step 4 – Fill in Grantor’s Details
Write the grantor’s full name and mailing address, county, city, and state.
Step 5 – Enter Grantee’s Information
Record the same information for the grantee. Remember to record the grantee’s county before the city and state.
Step 6 – Note Property Legal Description
Write the county where the property is located and record the complete legal description of the property. This is easily found on the current deed or in the county records for the property.
The legal description must include the property’s address.
Step 7 – Get Quitclaim Deed Notarized
Take the document to a notary public for the grantor to sign it. Underneath the signature, the grantor should print their name. The notary will witness and notarize the document.
Step 10 – Record Quitclaim Deed
Go to the Recorder of Deeds office to submit the Rhode Island quitclaim deed form. The actual type of office you take it to will vary depending on the town or city where the property is located.
Pay any filing fees charged by the town or city and submit the deed.
Rhode Island Quitclaim Deed Sample
Below is an example of a Rhode Island quitclaim deed.
Rhode Island Quitclaim Deed Samplerhode island quitclaim deed sample