A Florida employment contract clearly outlines the terms and conditions of employment, including the compensation an employer will pay for the employee’s job responsibilities.
For a contract to be valid in Florida, it must establish the exchange between offer and acceptance  . The written contract is what makes it legally binding.
- Laws: Florida Statutes Title XXXI.
- Definition of Employee: § 440.02(18):
- (a) “Any person who receives remuneration from an employer for the performance of any work or service while engaged in any employment under any appointment or contract for hire or apprenticeship, express or implied, oral or written, whether lawfully or unlawfully employed, and includes, but is not limited to, aliens and minors.”
- (b) “Any person who is an officer of a corporation and who performs services for remuneration for such corporation within this state, whether or not such services are continuous.”
Hiring in Florida
From the minimum wage laws to the payday requirements, ensure you’re aware of the following laws and regulations before employing anyone in Florida:
There are no state exceptions for at-will employment in Florida.
Minimum Wage ($/hr)
Basic Minimum Rate (per hour): $12.00  .
The minimum wage in Florida is adjusted annually based on a set formula. The next scheduled increase is on September 30, 2024, and it will rise to $13.00.
Employment certificates, as well as age certification, are not required in Florida. Employers are responsible for complying with Florida’s child labor requirements and regulations.
Employers of any minor must obtain and keep on record proof of the minor’s age, such as an age certificate issued by the district school board  .
Florida does not have any regulations on how often they should pay employees.
Meal and Rest Breaks
Florida does not have any requirements for minimum periods for breaks or meal periods.
Employers in Florida are required to keep employee wages, hours, and employment practices records under the Fair Labor Standards Act  on:
- Unemployment insurance (5 years)
- Workers’ compensation (at least 2 years)
- Child labor (for the duration of employment)
Download a Florida employment contract template below in PDF or Word format: