If you’re a landlord seeking to evict a tenant for violation of a Lease term in your rental agreement (like not paying rent or too many people living in the property), use an Alaska (AK) eviction notice to begin the process.
Your notice must be written according to Alaska state law, and give your tenant the legally required amount of time to respond or move out.
What is an Eviction Notice?
An eviction notice is a legally binding document a landlord gives a tenant to remove the tenant from the rental unit according to the law.
In Alaska, eviction lawsuits are governed by Title 9, Chapter 45 of the Alaska Statutes.
Landlords may not forcibly remove tenants themselves or make living conditions in the dwelling unit such that a tenant feels forced to move out such as failing to supply heat, natural gas if already in service, hot water, or other essential services.
Eviction notices in Alaska are also known as:
- Alaska Notice to Quit
- Alaska Notice to Vacate
- Alaska Lease Termination
- Alaska Termination of Tenancy for Non-Payment of Rent
Alaska Eviction Notices by Type
Download a free eviction notice customized for Alaska state law below in MS Word (.docx) or Adobe PDF format.
30-Day Lease Termination: Use this notice to let a tenant know that you’re ending a month-to-month lease and that they must prepare to leave your property.
In Alaska, landlords must give tenants 30 days’ notice to move out if they’re on a month-to-month rental agreement.
24-Hour Notice to Quit (Substantial Damage or Illegal Activity): Use this notice to evict a tenant if they’ve deliberately caused substantial damage to the rental property or engaged in illegal activity.
In Alaska, landlords must give tenants 24 hours’ notice before eviction can proceed in court.
10-Day Notice to Quit for Non-Compliance: Use this notice to begin evicting a tenant if they’ve broken the terms of your lease.
In Alaska, landlords must give tenants a 10-day notice period before the eviction process can proceed in court. During that time, tenants may have the option to fix (or “cure”) the problem.
7-Day Notice to Pay Rent or Quit: Use this notice to begin evicting a tenant if they have not paid rent or are late paying rent.
In Alaska, landlords must give tenants seven (7) days to pay rent before the eviction process can proceed in court.
If you wish to send a letter simply reminding your tenant that rent is late (without threat of eviction), use a late rent notice.
Alaska Eviction Laws & Requirements
- Eviction Lawsuit: Alaska Stat. §§ 09.45.060 – 09.45.160
- Grace Period for Paying Rent: No statute
- Non-Payment of Rent Notice: 7 days (Alaska Stat. § 34.03.220(b))
- Notice of Non-Compliance with Lease Terms: 10 days (Alaska Stat. § 34.03.220(a)(2))
- Deliberate Substantial Property Damage or Illegal Activity Notice: 24 hours (Alaska Stat. § 34.03.220(a)(1))
- Lease Termination (Month-to-Month): 30 days (Alaska Stat. § 34.03.290)
What is the Eviction Process in Alaska?
Take the following steps to process an eviction in Alaska.
Step 1: Send the notice
Your notice must inform the tenant of the reason for the eviction, such as whether their rent is overdue or they violated a lease agreement term including the specific provision violated.
The notice must also let the tenant know what, if anything, they can do to correct this violation such as immediate rent payment plus a late fee.
The notice will also indicate that the landlord will pursue eviction proceedings if the rent remains unpaid past the time period indicated in the lease agreement.
The written notice must be served to the tenant or person in possession via registered mail or certified mail with a return receipt, personal delivery or left at the premises (commonly with the notice taped on the front door) if the tenant is not present.
Step 2: File an eviction summons and complaint
Generally, if the tenant fails to respond to the eviction notice, the landlord may file an eviction action (known as a Forcible Entry and Detainer) with the district or superior court in the county where the property is located.
The current filing fee for an Alaska eviction lawsuit is $150. In cases that involve monetary damages, tenants have 20 days to file an answer to the court.
Step 3: Gather evidence and attend the hearing
After the tenant has an opportunity to file an answer to the eviction complaint, the court will schedule a hearing (Alaska’s Civil Procedure outlines that tenants may request a jury trial for their eviction hearing).
In the meantime, a landlord can put together documents, testimony, and any other evidence that will help support the eviction complaint.
Step 4: Obtain and enforce the court order
If the court determines the evidence supports eviction, it will enter an eviction judgement in the landlord’s favor. The judgment will generally give the tenant a certain amount of time to vacate the residence.
If the evidence doesn’t support eviction, the court may order the case dismissed or enter judgment in the tenant’s favor.
The order will also set the issue of damages for a future hearing, as the landlord is unlikely to know how much the tenant will owe in back rent, fees, and other costs until the unit is empty and can be inspected.
Step 5: Request the sheriff’s help
After an eviction judgment is entered, the landlord may seek help from the sheriff’s department or appropriate peace officer (after the court issues a Writ of Assistance) in enforcing the eviction if the tenant does not voluntarily vacate the rental property.
A tenant who overstays a valid eviction order can be charged as a trespasser.
Related Alaska Court Forms
The following forms are the most common legal documents used by landlords and tenants during eviction. More Forcible Entry and Detainer (Eviction) forms can be found on the Alaska Court government website.
- Complaint for Forcible Entry and Detainer (Eviction) (CIV-730): This form is used by the landlord to officially file an eviction action with the Alaska courts.
- Answer to Forcible Entry and Detainer (Eviction) Complaint(CIV-735): This form may be used by a tenant to officially respond and defend their case against eviction.
- Default Judgment (CIV-745): This form is used if the tenant fails to answer the eviction complaint.
Landlord-Tenant Eviction Information for Alaska
Use the following landlord and tenant information to guide you through Alaska evictions.
Alaska state law governing evictions can be complicated. Fortunately, the Alaska court system and some external legal agencies have put together helpful materials to make the process more transparent. You can also consult with an attorney to learn about the laws governing evictions, for both landlords and tenants.
- Information about Eviction Actions for Landlords and Tenants in Alaska
- Alaska Uniform Residential Landlord and Tenant Act
- Alaska Landlord and Tenant Act booklet (last updated 2014)
Some self-help resources may be useful for tenants facing eviction in Alaska. Learn about tenant rights, what to expect from eviction, and additional information during eviction proceedings.
- Lawyer Referral Service of the Alaska Bar Association
- Alaska Department of Law Consumer Protection Unit
- Alaska Small Claims Handbook
How to Write an Eviction Notice (Notice to Pay Rent or Quit)
Take the following steps to write an eviction Notice in Alaska.
Step 1 – Fill Out Date of Notice
Write the date of the eviction notice.
Step 2 – Enter Tenant Information and Property Address
Provide the name of all tenants listed on the original lease or rental agreement. Enter the full street address for the rental property.
Step 3 – Enter Lease/Rental Agreement Information
Provide the name (or title) and date of the original lease or rental agreement.
Step 4 – Enter Late Rent Details
Provide the beginning and end dates for the time period in which the rent is past due. Write the amount of the past due rent, late fees (if any), and the total amount owed by the tenant to the landlord.
Step 5 – Sign Notice and Enter Landlord Information
The landlord will sign and date the eviction notice. Provide the landlord’s current contact information so the tenant can contact the landlord if necessary.
Step 6 – Provide Proof of Service
Proof of service is an affidavit that acts as proof that the eviction notice was served to the tenant.
Enter the date of delivery. This is important because it provides evidence of the date the notice is delivered to the tenant, which starts the number of days the tenant has to pay the past due rent (7 days) or vacate the property.
Alaska Eviction Notice Sample
Below is an example of what an Alaska eviction notice looks like.
Alaska Eviction Notice Samplealaska-eviction-notice-7-day-pay-rent-or-quit