If you’re looking to rent out your property, you’ll need an Alaska (AK) Lease Agreement written according to Alaska’s landlord-tenant laws. The lease agreement creates a binding relationship between you (the landlord) and your tenant. You agree to rent all (or some of) your property for a fee, and in return, the tenant agrees to the terms and conditions you lay out in the document.
Other Alaska Real Estate documents you might be interested in are:
- Sublease Agreement – Used by a tenant to rent out all or part of their rented property to a new tenant.
- Eviction Notice – Used by a landlord to start the eviction process with a current tenant.
1. What to Include in an Alaska Residential Lease Agreement
Landlords in all states, including Alaska, are required by Federal law to include essential details in their rental/lease agreements, specifically:
- Tenant/Landlord Details: names and current addresses of both the tenant and landlord
- Premises: the address of the premises being rented
- Pets: whether pets are allowed, and any other pet-related rules
- Health Hazards: any known health hazards or risks
- Rent Specifics: the amount of rent and security deposit due, and payment dates and methods
Be aware that each state has different laws that govern the relationship between you (the landlord) and your tenant(s). It’s in your best interest to learn Alaska’s landlord-tenant laws.
2. Alaska Landlord and Tenant Laws
Alaska has specific regulations for landlords and tenants entering into a lease agreement. Some major regulations are as follows:
- A landlord can collect up to two months’ rent for a security deposit from a tenant unless the monthly rent is greater than $2,000. (§ 34.03.070)
- If there’s no damage to the property, and the tenant has provided proper notice to vacate, a landlord must return a tenant’s security deposit within 14 days of the end of the lease. Otherwise, a landlord may return the remaining security deposit within 30 days. (§ 34.03.070)
Landlord Right of Entry:
- A landlord must provide 1 day’s advance notice to a tenant before entering the rental property, and only enter at reasonable times. (§ 34.03.140)