A Kansas lease agreement creates a legally binding contract between you, the landlord, and your tenant(s). You agree to rent out all (or a part of) your property to a tenant, and they agree to the terms and conditions you lay out in the lease agreement.
The document must be written according to Kansas’s landlord-tenant laws and include details such as names and current addresses of both parties, information on the premises, rent and security deposit specifics, pet-related rules, or any known health hazards or risks.
Required Lease Disclosures
Kansas Statutes, Chapter 58, Article 25 has specific regulations for landlords and tenants entering a lease agreement. Some major disclosures are as follows:
- Tenants must receive the names and addresses of all the authorized parties involved in managing the rental property (§ 58-2551).
- A move-in checklist – The inventory and condition of the property (§ 58-2548).
- Disclosure of lead-based hazards (under federal law) for buildings built before 1978 (Title 42 U.S. Code § 4852(d)).
If the rental property is unfurnished, a landlord can collect up to one month’s rent as a security deposit from the tenant. They can collect up to 1.5 months’ rent if it’s furnished.
A landlord must return a tenant’s security deposit within 30 days of the end of the lease (§ 58-2550).
Landlord Right of Entry
A landlord must provide reasonable written or verbal notice to a tenant before entering the rental property (§ 58-2557).
The Kansas residential lease agreement template below defines all necessary rental terms and can be downloaded in PDF or Word format.