A Nevada lease agreement is a legally binding rental contract between a landlord and a tenant, written per Nevada’s landlord-tenant laws. In a lease agreement, a property owner agrees to rent all or a portion of their property to a tenant for a fee, and the tenant agrees to pay. The landlord and tenant promise to follow the terms and conditions outlined in the agreement.
This agreement includes details as they relate to the tenant’s and landlord’s contact information, the address of the premises, clarification on the allowance of pets, known health hazards, and the rent price.
By Type (6)
Rent Control: No
Limit on Late Fees: Yes
Late Fees in Rental Agreement: Yes
Grace Period: Yes
License Required for Landlord: No
Required Lease Disclosures
Here are some of the required lease disclosures, according to the Nevada Revised Statutes:
- Fees. A landlord must specify if a fee is nonrefundable in a lease agreement (§ 118A.200). According to the same statute, a landlord must also provide a moving checklist to record any existing damage before a tenant moves into the property.
- Foreclosure. A landlord must notify a tenant if the property has a foreclosure pending (§ 118A.275).
- USA Flag (Right to Raise). A landlord must inform tenants of their right to wave an American flag on their property (§ 118A.325).
- Disclosure of Lead-Based Hazards. According to 42 U.S. Code § 4852d, a landlord must notify the tenant if the property has been around since before 1978 due to the possibility of lead-based paint being on the property’s interior.
The Nevada Revised Statutes indicate that a landlord can charge up to three months’ rent for a security deposit. If the tenant moves out and the property is in suitable condition, a landlord must return the security deposit within 30 days (§ 118A.242).
Landlord Right of Entry
A landlord must provide at least 24 hours advance notice to a tenant before entering the rental property except for cases of emergency (§ 118A.330).
Small Claims Court
A tenant in Nevada can take a landlord to small claims court for a security deposit they refuse to refund for up to $10,000 (§ 73.010).
Download this Nevada lease agreement template to start outlining your terms for your tenants: