A Nevada sublease agreement allows a tenant who’s currently renting property (known as the “sublessor”) to rent out part or all of that property to another tenant (or “subtenant”). In Nevada, the current tenant must first check with the landlord or refer to the original lease agreement to see if they’re even allowed to sublease because a contract may forbid subletting.
A sublessor must honor the terms of the sublease agreement (as well as the original lease) and follow all Nevada laws regarding the eviction process, security deposits, and all other landlord-tenant matters.
Laws & Requirements
Sublease and Assignment Provision Laws: NV Rev Stat § 40.2514
Landlord-Tenant Laws: Nevada Revised Statutes Chapter 118A
Security Deposit Obligations: A sublessor must return the security deposit within 30 days of the end of the sublease.
Notices: A sublessor must give the subtenant seven days’ written notice to pay rent or leave the property if they can’t pay rent. The sublessor must also provide 30 days’ written notice of their intent to not renew the sublease with the subtenant or the original lease with their landlord.
Download a Nevada sublease agreement template as a PDF or Word file below: