A Kentucky standard lease agreement is a legal document that outlines the terms and conditions that govern the landlord-tenant relationship. It is a recommended tool for solidifying this relationship and defining the obligations of both parties.
The lease sets forth the amount and manner of rent payment and the start and end dates of the tenancy. Prior to the initial date of occupancy, the tenant may be required to furnish a security deposit or prepay a portion of the rent.
At the time of lease signing, the landlord must provide the tenant with a move-in checklist and a security deposit receipt.
Considerations on Lease Length
- Maximum Amount ($): No state-imposed limit
- Returning to Tenant: Within 30 days if no rent is owed, within 30 days if the tenant owes rent. (§ 383.580(6), (7))
Rent Grace Period
There is no rent grace period for rent payments. Rent is due at the start of each pay period, and it becomes late on the day immediately after the due date. (§ 383.565)
- Landlord-Tenant Laws – KRS Chapter 383 (Uniform Residential Landlord and Tenant Act)
- Handbook – Kentucky Landlord-Tenant Guide