If you’re a landlord of a rental property in Nevada and seek to evict a tenant for failing to pay rent or comply with another lease term, use a Nevada (NV) Eviction Notice to begin the process.
Your notice must be written according to Nevada state law and give your tenant the legally required time to respond to the violation of your Lease Agreement or move out.
What is an Eviction Notice?
An eviction notice is a legally binding document that begins evicting a tenant in Nevada. Chapter 40, specifically sections 40.215 through 40.425 of the Nevada Revised Statues, governs evictions in the state.
So, all landlords must refer to and follow these statutes when evicting a tenant.
An eviction notice in Nevada is also known as:
- Notice to Pay or Quit
- Notice to Quit
- Notice to Vacate
- Lease Termination
Nevada Eviction Notices by Type
Download a free eviction notice customized for Nevada state law below in MS Word (.docx) or Adobe PDF format.
30-Day Lease Termination: 30-Day Lease Termination: Use this notice to let a tenant know that you’re ending a month-to-month lease, and that they must prepare to leave your property.
In Nevada, landlords must give tenants a 30-day notice period to move out if they’re on a monthly lease.
Download: Word (.docx) or Adobe PDF
5-Day Notice to Quit for Non-Compliance: Use this notice to evict a tenant if they’ve broken the terms of your lease (other than failure to pay rent).
In Nevada, landlords must give tenants a five-day notice before eviction can proceed in court. In that time, tenants may have the option to fix (or “cure”) the problem.
Download: Word (.docx) or Adobe PDF
7-Day Notice to Pay Rent or Quit: Use this notice to evict a tenant if they haven’t paid rent on time.
In Nevada, landlords must give tenants seven (7) days to pay rent before the eviction process can proceed in court.
Download: Word (.docx) or Adobe PDF
If you wish to send a letter simply reminding your tenant that rent is late, use a late rent notice.
Landlord-Tenant Laws and Requirements
- Landlord and tenant laws: Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) Chapter 118A
- Eviction process laws: NRS §§ 40.215 – 40.425
- Notice for non-payment of rent: 7 days (NRS § 40.2512)
- Notice of non-compliance with lease terms: 5 days (NRS § 40.2516)
- Notice of unlawful business, nuisance, waste: 3 days (NRS § 40.2514)
- Service of Notice requirements: Notice must be served by the sheriff, constable, or licensed process server (NRS § 40.280)
- “Self-help” evictions: Unlawful (NRS § 118A.390)
- Lease termination (month-to-month): 30 days (NRS § 40.251)
What is the Eviction Process in Nevada?
In Nevada, there are two types of eviction processes. The first, the summary eviction process, is the most common.
There’s also a formal process that follows a similar process but allows the landlord to seek monetary damages.
The summary eviction process involves the following steps:
Step 1: Serve Notice on Tenant
If the eviction is for non-payment of rent, the landlord will only need to serve the tenant with the 7 Day Notice to Pay Rent or Quit.
Suppose the eviction is for any other reason, such as violating lease terms or unlawful business. In that case, the landlord must first serve the applicable Notice that describes the violation, followed by a second Notice to Quit for Unlawful Detainer after the first notice period has elapsed.
Step 2: File a Complaint and Supporting Documents with the Justice Court
If the tenant doesn’t comply with the notice or respond, then the landlord can begin an eviction lawsuit by filing the following documents with the Justice Court:
- Complaint for Summary Eviction
- All notices that were served on the tenant
- An original affidavit of service
- A written rental or lease agreement, if any, exists
Landlords will also have to pay a filing fee to the Justice Court.
Step 3: Attend a Hearing If Necessary
If the tenant files an answer, the tenant and landlord must attend the hearing. The notice of the time and date of the hearing will be mailed to both parties.
At the hearing, the landlord and the tenant can provide the facts of the case and present their sides.
Suppose the judgment is ruled in favor of the landlord. In that case, an Eviction Order is given, and the landlord can make arrangements with the constable to physically remove the tenant from the premises.
Summary eviction is used for cases where the landlord’s right to possession is clear. It’s used most often for cases involving non-payment of rent.
Related Court Forms
Complaint for Summary Eviction: This form formally starts the eviction process in court. (Note: This is an example form from Churchill County, Nevada. Ask your local County Clerk for the appropriate form in your area.)
Landlord’s statement for Summary Eviction: A landlord can use this form to describe the lease violation and why they seek to evict the tenant.
Tenant’s Affidavit: A tenant can use this form to respond and defend themselves when an eviction is pending for non-payment of rent in private housing.
For additional landlord-tenant forms, visit the Nevada Court’s website.
Eviction Information for Nevada Landlords and Tenants
For landlords, the Nevada Courts provide a very helpful guide. Landlords can also get a summary of need-to-know tenant rights by visiting Nevada Legal Services.
Remember that you must file for formal eviction if you wish to combine the eviction process with a money judgment for damages.
If your suit is less than $10,000, you should file in the Justice Court. Otherwise, file in the District Court.
Tenants can also get valuable information from the Nevada Courts guide on evictions. You can get summary information regarding tenants’ rights and related resources on the Nevada Legal Services website.
Tenants can also get help, knowledge, and support from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.
How to Write an Eviction Notice (Notice to Pay Rent or Quit)
Follow the steps below to write an eviction notice in Nevada.
Step 1 – Fill Out Date of Eviction Notice
Write the date of the eviction notice.
Step 2 – Enter Tenant Information and Property Address
Provide the name of all tenants listed on the original lease or rental agreement. Enter the full street address for the rental property.
Step 3 – Enter Lease/Rental Agreement Information
Provide the name (or title) and the original lease or rental agreement date.
Step 4 – Enter Late Rent Details
Provide the beginning and end dates for the period the rent is past due. Write the amount of the past due rent, late fees (if any), and the total amount the tenant owes to the landlord.
Step 5 – Sign Notice and Enter Landlord Information
The landlord will sign and date the eviction notice. Provide the landlord’s current contact information so the tenant can contact the landlord if necessary.
Step 6 – Provide Proof of Service
Proof of service is an affidavit that shows that the eviction notice was served to the tenant.
Enter the date of delivery. This is important because it provides evidence of the date the notice is delivered to the tenant, which starts the number of days the tenant has to pay the past due rent (7 days) or vacate the property.
The person delivering the Eviction Notice, the server, should complete the delivery method, the fields for the person receiving the notice, and the address of the location where the notice was delivered.
The server signs, prints their full name, and dates the proof of service.
Sample Nevada Eviction Notice
Use the free form below to begin evicting a tenant in Nevada.
Alternatively, you can create a customized attorney-drafted form using our document builder, which may save you attorney fees associated with reviewing your legal documents.