An Oregon lease agreement describes the terms under which a landlord will rent their property to a tenant for a specified period. This document includes the names and contact information of the landlord and the tenant, the property address and description, pet allowance provisions, safety/health information, and details about rent payments.
Rent Control: Yes
Limit on Late Fees: Yes
Late Fees in Rental Agreement: Yes
Grace Period: Yes
License Required for Landlord: Yes
Required Lease Disclosures
Here are the disclosures a landlord must make to their tenants in Oregon:
- Identification. A landlord must disclose to the tenant the property’s owner’s name and address (Or. Rev. Stat. § 90.305).
- Carbon Monoxide & Smoke Detector Addendum. The property must include at least one operational carbon monoxide detector in accordance with State Fire Marshal regulations. A landlord must provide instructions for testing smoke alarms (ORS § 90.316).
- Disclosure of Flood Hazard Area. A landlord must notify the tenant if the property is in a 100-year flood plain (ORS 90.228).
- NSF (Dishonored) Check. A landlord must specify a fee for an NSF check within the lease agreement (ORS 30.701).
- Outstanding Notices/Pending Suits. A landlord must notify the tenant of any outstanding notices or suits, like a pending suit to foreclose a mortgage (ORS 90.310).
- Recycling. For a property with more than five units, a landlord must provide recycling instructions to the tenants (ORS § 90.318).
- Smoking Policy. A landlord must provide a disclosure about the smoking policy for the rented property (ORS 90.220).
- Utility/Service Fees. A landlord must clarify if any service or utility fees paid by the tenant will benefit the landlord or other tenants (ORS 90.315).
- Disclosure of Lead-Based Hazards. A landlord must notify the tenant if the property might contain lead-based paint on its interior (42 U.S. Code § 4852d).
A landlord can charge as much as desired for the security deposit, as there is no legal limit (No statute).
A landlord must return the security deposit to a tenant within thirty-one (31) days of the lease’s end or termination (ORS § 90.300).
Landlord Right of Entry
Landlords must give at least twenty-four (24) hours of notice in non-emergency cases before entering the premises (ORS 90.322).
Small Claims Court
If a landlord doesn’t return a tenant’s security deposit for the full amount, a tenant can sue a landlord in small claims court for up to $10,000 (ORS 46.4050).
Our Oregon residential lease agreement template can help you write your terms and conditions and communicate them to a tenant while abiding by state laws. Download the template as a PDF or Word file below: