Rent property with a Utah (UT) Lease Agreement written according to Utah’s landlord-tenant rental laws.
This form creates a legally binding rental contract between the property owner or landlord and tenant(s).
You agree to rent out all (or a part of) your residential property to a tenant, and they agree to the terms and conditions laid out in the contract (lease term, monthly payment, late fee, security deposit, pet deposit, etc.)
Other Utah rental-related documents you might be interested in are:
- Utah Sublease Agreement – Used by a tenant to rent out all or part of the leased property to a new tenant (subtenant) monthly or for another lease term.
- Utah Eviction Notice – Used by a landlord to start the eviction process with a current tenant if the tenant does not pay rent or violates other lease terms.
- Commercial Lease Agreement – Used to rent commercial property in Utah, such as office space.
What to Include in a Utah Lease Agreement
As a landlord in Utah, you’re required by Federal and state law to include certain provisions in your residential lease agreements.
You should have some of this information from the rental application filled out by the prospective tenant).
Specifically, you need to include:
- Tenant/Landlord Details: names and current addresses of both the tenant and property owner
- Premises: the address of the premises being rented
- Lease Term: the length of the lease (e.g., 12 month)
- Pets: whether pets are allowed and any other pet-related rules
- Safety and Health Hazards: any known safety and health hazards or risks
- Rent Specifics: the amount of rent and security deposit due, payment dates and payment methods, the grace period for late payment and any late fees
States have different laws regulating the relationship between a property owner and a tenant.
You should learn Utah’s landlord and tenant laws that apply specifically to residential property (as opposed to commercial space) to protect your financial and legal rights.
Utah Landlord and Tenant Laws
Utah state law imposes specific and distinct requirements for landlords and tenants when entering a lease agreement or rental contract for residential properties. Some of those requirements include:
- There’s no law regarding how much money a landlord can collect from a tenant as a security deposit.
- A landlord must return a tenant’s deposit within thirty days of the end of the lease (Utah Code § 57-17-3)
- Ensure you collect current forwarding contact information for all tenants when moving out.
Landlord Right of Entry
- A landlord must provide at least 24 hours prior notice to a tenant before entering the rental property (Utah Code § 57-22-4(2))
- Per Utah Code § 57-22-4(6), landlords have to provide the prospective tenant(s) with a written inventory of the condition of the rental unit and a walkthrough inspection of the rental unit. The parties can use a Rental Inspection Checklist to document the property’s current condition
- According to Utah Code § 57-22-4(7), at the beginning of the lease term, the landlord must provide the tenant(s) in writing the contact information (name, address, telephone number) of the landlord or any person authorized to manage the rental unit. The landlord must also provide the tenant(s) with the signed rental agreement and a copy of any rules and regulations.
- Landlords also have to comply with Federal and state-required disclosures such as disclosing lead-based paint in the rental unit for units before 1978.
Utah Legal Services Resources
How to Write a Lease/Rental Agreement
Follow the steps below to write a rental agreement in Utah.
Step 1 – Fill Out the Date of Agreement
Write the date of the Lease/Rental Agreement.
Step 2 – Enter the Parties’ Information
Provide the name and address of the parties that are signing the agreement. First is the landlord or management company and their current address. Then write in all tenants and their current addresses.
Step 3 – Describe the Property
Describe the type of rental property such as an apartment or house and provide the full street address of the rental property.
Step 4 – Enter the Term of the Lease
Write the term (length) of the lease in months and enter the beginning and end dates of the lease. If the lease is month-to-month, provide the start date of the lease.
Step 5 – Enter Rent Details
Provide the monthly rental amount, the date the rent is due each month and the acceptable payment method(s). Any late fees or grace period for late payment of rent can be added.
Step 6 – Enter Security Deposit Amount
Write the amount of the security deposit the landlord will collect from the tenant, typically done at the beginning of the lease.
Step 7 – Additional Provisions
Provide additional and optional provisions such as regarding use of guarantor, payment of utilities, maintenance and repairs, alterations, or allowance or prohibition of pets, smoking, or sublease.
Step 8 – Signatures
The landlord and tenant(s) will sign and date the lease agreement.
Sample Utah Lease Agreement
Use the free form below for lease agreements in Utah or to get an idea of what a Utah residential rental agreement looks like.
Utah Lease Agreement Sampleutah-residential-rental-lease-agreement